Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I pitch and when partner asks I look and say yes I have one and play the jack.
Jan. 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your completion is other human players however you are playing at a table with 3 machines. Your hand is the best hand(total points)
Jan. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Recently played at Orlando Regional with my oldest Son. Numerous opponents thought I was serious when they kept asking it says John Moschella twice. I stated he was not a member so I put my player in twice so I would get twice the points. Several believed me and one wanted to call director since they did not think this should be allowed.
Jan. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually had my oldest son playing in Orlando Regional this past week and bridge mate shows John Moschella John Moschella. When asked I stated he was not a member(he is) and I just entered my number twice so I could get twice as many points. Many asked if it really worked that way.
Jan. 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I will say my first gold points were in this event in the early 90's. I played in knockout and was a fill in for one of the sessions. 1st round partner blamed me for everything and found me after the game to explain that I cost her section top. I stated I had section top and only round with her was below average. Didn't play in it anymore after that(had only been playing a year or tow at time). Would be playing in it now if I still lived in the Boston area however.
Jan. 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In a Swiss if we in by a extremely large number I usually turn in +33 which is enough for all victory points. No reason for someone to know(other than opponents) that they lost by 70, 80+.
Jan. 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After opening lead in 6N Claim is as follows I'll take 12 tricks 5 spades, 4 hearts 3 diamond and a club. Would you only let them take 12 tricks.
Jan. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Against 99% of players I would allow them to take all the tricks. There are a few players that I would know would fight for a trick in this situation so I would fight for the trick against them.
Jan. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray, I believe your interpretation of the rules is correct. However several of us believe that if we were in this position we should not gain an advantage when we(if we were N/S) contributed to it. If my opponents lead out of turn I take it, if they revoke I take it. If I call a card not in dummy and opponent tries to follow suit I would not take advantage in this situation by playing other tricks to get him to pitch or force the card to be a penalty card since even though by law I did nothing wrong and my opponent had an infraction but I was the cause of it.

In this case I believe N/S by not properly announcing caused E/W a problem. Yes E/W is responsible and should have known better and the laws state they get no redress but I would not want to gain an advantage this way.
Jan. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing in blub game declarer conceded last 2 tricks playing the T of diamonds from hand. When partner showed J3 of diamonds I asked to see declarer's hand since there was still a missing diamond. I gave trick to declarer since my partner would have to lead back to her. No diamonds left in my hand or dummy.
Jan. 2, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe that South did incorrectly announce He was required to announce and didn't. However since all 1NT opener's require an announcement we are now putting burden on E/W since they should know that N/S is always suppose to announce in this sequence. So it is OK for N/S to forget that they are suppose to announce but not OK for E/W to forget that N/S was suppose to announce.
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How difficult it is to see/find the opponents card is directly proportional to how much non standard(for the area) stuff they play.
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree E/W made a mistake and incorrectly assumed that the 1NT range was 15-17 however if N/S correctly stated that 1N was 12-14 then E/W mistake would not have occurred.
Jan. 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Behind screens you do not know that your partner did not announce.
Dec. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Were North South playing different No trump ranges based on position. If i.e. on a previous board 1 NT was opened and explained as 15-17 then on this board when not announced one may incorrectly assume that it is still 15-17.

Later saw it was on 2nd board of match
Dec. 31, 2015
John Moschella edited this comment Dec. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have 4 spades, 4 hearts, 4 diamonds and a club. Oh I don't have 4 spades then I will take a club finesse.
Dec. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Although I certainly agree I will come from a different direction. Typically now at regionals they have single section in the open game and sometimes 5 or 6 in the gold Rush. If a player wants to play up they can and they will play a lot of better players. If they make it a single event then those who want to play “better players” will only play one or two of them.
Dec. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I remember story when a team of 3 was looking for a fourth. Back when they didn't average the team points just took the highest. They were looking to play the A/X Swiss in the X 0-5000. We had a very good player who was free that had more than 5000. When all was said and done they chose not to play. They would have played in the same exact event in theory playing against the same players. The difference they would have only been eligible for the A award and not the X they chose to go home instead.
At one time you would want to play with the best players available now how many points players have is more important.
Dec. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So if I get to the 5 card end position with AKQJx in my hand and claim the rest but don't state as long as an opponent doesn't have 5 of the suit then I automatically lose a trick because an opponent could have had 5.
Dec. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 Spades placed to the left of the table implies I expect to bid again(so some sort of heart raise). Placed toward right of table means I want auction to be over. Simple.
Dec. 21, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top