Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Josh may have explained to some never pull when I bid 3N.
Dec. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I did not call director because I was trying to protect partner I lost focus when to me the card was clearly played and then defender pulled back. I started to think of situations(I have recently started playing with 2 of my children) and although we have discussed that they should not do this we have not fully discussed when they would call director. I knew I was wrong to call director and told him that I as dummy had called him but started thinking how could something like this be resolved if dummy called when hand was over. Tough enough for director's when call would have been immediately after trick 2 as opposed to when hand was over.
Dec. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I abstained after reading question and answers. I would not fill out a recorder form here but being a recorder I would not tell you that you shouldn't if you felt you should.
Dec. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry Michael, My question wasn't trying to get to if it was a penalty or not but the question as if dummy waited till end of hand(as I was supposed to) how could there ever be a ruling. The difference in opinions between both sides on how long hesitations are or how much touching of bidding box occurs. Not sure how after the hand one could claim they played a card incorrectly at trick 2.

I was trying to get to situation where i.e. opening leader drops a card face up on table picks it up and leads something else. Seen clearly by dummy but not declarer. Not sure how this could be rectified at end of hand.

I know rule that Dummy is not suppose to call but card was IMO so clearly played that I could not believe it was getting pulled back and called director(forgetting not my place) When director came I made sure he knew that I as dummy made call.
Dec. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Card was placed toward table so both dummy and declarer could see card. It was clearly played and pulled back is why I called so quickly forgetting it was not my place. Just got me thinking of scenario if I had waited till hand was over.
Dec. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We agreed that next step was Q ask. Partner asked in different thread believing that 5N denied the Q of trump so 6D was showing 3rd round control since I could have bid 6D asking for 2nd round control.
Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can bid 4 spades but after 5D or 5H response I believe I still would bid 6H? Don't believe partner could blackwood with bad spades and bad clubs.

If partner is
xxxx
KQxx
Axxxx
void

I want to be in 7. He's opened showed the AD and the KQ of hearts. The only thing I don't know is if he has the 4th heart and then I still have play on a non heart lead.

Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wasn't thinking forgetting that I was not suppose to. Agree that I was wrong in calling(not my job at this time). Actually while waiting for director commented that he may waive penalty since I am not allowed to point out irregularity. I was more thinking if I waited till end of hand(as I was supposed to) how can there be any rectification.
Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
xxxx
KQxx
Axxxx

Looks like 7 is laydown.
Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
6C was Q ask. 6D should have promised QH.
Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The card was face up about an inch from table when pulled back. My partner saw it also but yes I did call the director just before partner. My real question was in this scenario if partner did not see and I called director at end of hand how could there be any correction.
Dec. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If declarer did not claim but played another card and the offender then realized that they revoked prior to either of their side playing a card then they could correct the revoke. The fact that declarer claims does not change this.
Dec. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, it clubs were Qxx claimer would not get it correct. Only get it correct when stiff or Qx.
Dec. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In example given neither opponent accepted the claim so I do not believe anyone other than declarer played to next trick.
Dec. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Revoke is not established until one of the opponents plays to the next trick. SO even if you turned over all cards and then led to the next trick if the person found the revoke before either opponent played a card they could correct revoke. Haven't seen it come up at a claim before however but it seems like it would be same scenario
Dec. 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have always thought if Q was stiff or doubleton then declarer makes. If Qxx must play clubs first and lose however many tricks it is.
Dec. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Steve: I am eligible for NAP this year and will be playing in it Wed/Thurs then the IMP pair on Fri/Sat. Not eligible to play seniors, my partner is male not eligible for mixed the next NABC event our partnership can play (assuming not playing Vandy) would be the following Thurs. Nothing Sun/Mon/Tues or Weds for us.
Dec. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry didn't mean to start such a landslide. What I was trying to get to if one truly wants to cheat they will find a way. I agree we should try to diminish it as much as possible, but when vertical leads became issue I couldn't even tell you what I typically did and after playing and watching I noticed that occasionally they were different(same for opponents) but thing that I never truly looked at.
Dec. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry I had a hand like this
N E S W
1S X XX P
P Now East picked up their cards and West stated you can't pass. Director ruled that E picking up double card did not constitute a bid and allowed them to take a call.

I believe this is correct ruling even though partner did not pull out pass card. I have seen and heard many go the other way the picking up your cards is not a pass.
Dec. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I live in Florida and can play some very fine teams in top bracket if I choose. Playing in GNT and not sure I am playing past Saturday after IMP pairs since no event on Sunday or Monday that I can play in and then restricted to Mixed on Tues.
Dec. 8, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top