Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well I am one to young qualified for GNT, will play IMP airs with partner and then released him so he can play in Seniors and I have to decide if I want to stay around till Tues to play mixed or go home. Still working so will decide when it gets closer
Dec. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes East is entitled to both. North forgot and passed. When East now asked North what is it he is required to give correct explanation.

Players pass New minor forcing all the time. Sometimes question is Do you play new minor forcing and answer is yes and then they realize they passed. If fit showing jumps were pretty standard(which they are not) then question may have been instead of is that weak to isn't that a fit showing jump in which case North might now say *** yes it is.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So when partner leads Ace and I have stiff 2 I say we play upside down and when I have stiff 9 I say we play standard.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I make opening lead thinking we are playing upside down. Partner is asked and states we are playing standard.
If I know we are playing UD but it appears partner forgot or just misspoke. I cannot correct him now and I would think it would be unethical to card standard on this hand. I think I should discard and take his as UD, defend accordingly and correct after the hand.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For those who think someone may not pass a “forcing bid” I have seen one more than one occasion
1H 3C(Bergen) raise properly explained and eventually passed out as opener was deciding to play 3 or 4H and finally decided 3 level but passed instead of bidding 3H.

Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe the top down is the default on how one plays but when AKQxx oppoite Jxxx x claims the last 5 they are not forced to play AKQ and then small to dummy's J losing last trick hen they did not specifically claim.

In example given KZ of spades in dummy opposite AQJx would be silly to play A then K

I think ruling is correct but real question when qxx of clubs wins 3rd club and whatever other tricks available.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pretend they are behind screens and get the correct explanation from that player who made the bid and it gets passed back to them. Would East now bid? If answer is no then I believe East was damaged.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would expect that whoever shuffled id a poor job of randomizing the deck. The idea of hanky panky is someone planned on this. Though I agree that it probably was not shuffled properly(no proof however) I expect that pair that got bad result wants to throw out board and pair that gets good result doesn't. Not sure how TD should handle this. I'd be more concerned when they bid 7N and both finesses are on than this.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I pick it up and place it correctly on who wins the trick it means one thing and when I put the wrong way it means something else.
Dec. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry I play with one partner that when he opens 3C is 3rd seat white on red and I am asked what that means I say preemptive could be a 5 card suit since I have seen him do it a couple of times over the years and I would not expect opponents to think he only had 5. Of course I was told we did not have that agreement although my partner had a 5 card suit KQJTx on the hand I explained.
Dec. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not if they have agreement that it is never more than 1 length apart so 46 or 57 opens a weak 2 or 3.
Dec. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe a transfer is suppose to guarantee length in the suit. The above 2D bid needs to be alerted not announced as transfer.
Dec. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sometimes one doesn't make bid that pushes them to game but may sacrifice over it. Person could be thinking if I bid 3S and they bid 4H not sure what to do and then thinks again when they bid 4H. I would think partner has fit when hesitates in these 2 positions.
Dec. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Similar to eliminating the 3c puppet response over 2N. When opponents open 2N or 2C it greatly reduces the amount of times we would come into the auction so alerting is less likely to help defenders. No alerts above 3N since less likely that opponents will be bidding.
Dec. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
what about 64 or 74 would you preempt in one instead. Would you need to detail this.


When don't or meckwell is played over 1NT I have never gotten more than clubs +higher or clubs + major. Would need to ask style of what lengths could be.
Dec. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, when you refuse to accept penalty for revoke although I agree you don't believe you deserve the extra matchpoints given in this way and you choose not to take them and you and your partners/teammates agree I still think this is clearly wrong since when you are sitting North/South all the other East Wests are your teammates and I do not believe that they have all agreed with you to play this way. Although when both opponents pitch and I know one of them have a card I ask several times for them to check before continuing,
Nov. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the opponents make a bad claim I don't believe I should try to determine how good/bad my opponents are and decide to call or not call the directory based on this. I call the director and let the director rule.
Nov. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the result at someone's table would be cancelled and replaced with another board then one should speak loudly on all the board they believe they are losing more imp's than the penalty
Nov. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the opponents bid 7N off the ace of spades and then the card was exposed. Although one could not prove intent(recorder should document) Hand could have claimed after opening lead and defender showed the ace of spades on how it may have been boxed. I would expect director should rule 7N making and 6N making six at other table.
Nov. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When the opponents lead out of turn or revoke(do you accept) or do you not want to win this way>
Nov. 21, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top