Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bobby Wolff proposed to the WBF that all titles and masterpoints accrued by convicted cheaters be stricken from their record for as long as they played as a partnership. This applies to team mates as well.Uncategorized

This assumes that the first time they played together they cheated. I don' expect this to be true. Somewhere along the line this would occur. I would expect that cheaters be banned but unclear punishment to teammates if not proved that they cheated in that event. My understanding is that some players/directors with access to hand records have been convicted of cheating. Should every partner ever to play with them have there masterpoints removed.
Sept. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I open 1N and pass to player with my right hand I have 15, both hands is 16 and left hand is 17.
Sept. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dummy had KQ9 I held AJxxx with no entry and partner led the T(rusinow promising J or shortness. Declarer played the highest of the 3 remaining cards and then picked up my partners convention card to see what we were playing. Partner usually always plays rusinow but we don't play together very often. The picking up of the convention card told me that declarer had 3 small(less likely to care lead with 2 small. I played another and gave ruff. Your hand record analysis would not take this table feel into account. Also some players lead low from 2 small so when they lead 9 that most may be from 9-x some players would read as singleton(although the issue would reverse when they led 2)
Sept. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Play the J vertically next time to continue, horizontal to switch solves all problems.
Sept. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes I hate when told I didn't wait long enough after 1C - p -1H - 2N(skip bid put on table).
Sept. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play a lot of poker and a lot of bridge. In poker when I fold I spend time watching for signals(partnerships if they exist) or how a player plays a hand so I can use information later. In bridge I am playing every card during the hand. I should not be watching how someone pulls a card out of their hand. Yes players will play an ace differently when the hold ace versus ace/king. When I learned game this was not the way the game should be played so I tend not to look for this information when playing.
Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually had a hand with a decision to make white on red. QJTxx x x AKxxxx. I ended up bidding 5C mostly since I was no longer on lead and managed to go for 500 against cold heart game
Aug. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This was a Sunday Open Swiss at the Nationals after getting knocked out of GNT. Director ruled against and I accepted. Today would probably appeal but did not know this path several years ago.
Aug. 25, 2015
John Moschella edited this comment Aug. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Need to really evaluate before you assume a wire. I sat in a sectional once and on first board against unknown opponents auction was 2S- 6S. 6S caller had KQxx xx xx AKQJx. 2S opener had AJTxxx x Axxx xx. I called director and said seemed like North, South had wire. Director said he would look at board. We played 2 more boards and after seeing bidding and play went back to director and stated I don't think there is a wire(not sure they would have been able to use information if they heard it.) We had 2 tops and a bottom, they had a 30% game. Now if top players bid like this I may have issue but bad players make bad bids and plays that work sometimes.
Aug. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whoever brought complaint up in the first place should not have names like “Mr//Mrs. nosy-nose that bitched about it to the director” tossed about. They thought there was an issue and brought it up. They should not be condemned for that.
Aug. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Please don't condemn me for writing this(post sat for a few minutes before clicking add comment). I first read some of the threads and thought something wasn't right. Seemed punishment did not meet the crime. I then discussed with another player over the phone and something I thought of is someone on the other team needed to realize the board was fouled. They would need to review play of hand and look at the board to determine. Sometimes I see players pull boards to look at what happened but not often when they went +2 on a board when playing a part score. I don't see players in top bracket going over card by card by both sides to determine a board is fouled.
Aug. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had similar situation once going out for GNT. After getting knocked out partner asked plans( I stated assumed we were playing for the 5 days). On way back to my room A Top player from our area(Grand Life Master) told me he was free for next couple of days but I declined since I was already booked. Partner decided to play with someone else the next morning. I still occasionally play with this person but will not commit to traveling to tournament with them.
Aug. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What if my screen mate is my left hand opponent. Wouldn't I write everything after my bid and before theirs.
Aug. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1994 I moved to Florida was going to go to Atlanta to play in a Regional. My wife noticed there was a Regional in Florida at same time and asked why I wasn't playing locally. I explained it was Senior only tournament and I was not eligible to play. Didn't make sense then still does not make sense now. Separate events seems Ok but separate tournaments(unless playing space is the issue) doesn't make sense.
Aug. 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And yep, we do lead A from AK. So what's the correct, right, and proper way to answer this question? “A from AK” is accurate but totally misleading.

The same answer should be given every time. Sounds like you may have told partner who had the K while trying not to mislead declarer.


Aug. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4 teams call them 1234. 4 beats 1, 2 beats 3 4 and 2 get night off. Maybe 2/4 play at night for top 2 seed positions and 1/3 play for remaining seed.
Aug. 11, 2015
John Moschella edited this comment Aug. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing with my 15 year old son after I led K clubs and another club with two in dummy my son grabbed jack of clubs noticed dummy was void(declarer was also) but declarer quoted rulebook that card was such that I might have seen it. My son passed passed my negative double of 1S - 2D x which was cold and they made overtrick after ruff sluff. I let go even though I did not believe card was actually played in position that required it to be led. Next hand auction with us not bidding 1H - 2N - 3N - 4N with no alerts. After my son led I asked about auction and they play Jacoby and I called director stating North(who bid 2N and could quote rulebook on previous board) could quebid since partner showed extras or with Kx QJxx Axx Kxxx could consider passing 3N but was told no logical alternative to 3N and heard the North who quoted rulebook on previous board stating he had no option but to bid 4 Spades since he knew they had 9 card heart fit. Didn't feel right but I would not consider cheating. Would consider somewhat unethical but not cheating.
Aug. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is Robot Bridge on BBO cheating. You always get dealt the best hand.
Aug. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many players only go to a tournament because it is close to where they live. They drive to tournament and are able to pay entry fee and play and go home at end of day. Some players go to lots of tournaments. Although I agree that there are a lot of tournaments I do know that a lot of players will not pay for a hotel room to play therefore will not travel that far.
Aug. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At one time swiss events were 2 sessions 5 and 3 matches and if you played the last 3(a full session) you were eligible for full award. I played in 2nd half once(not planning on playing when player went home sick) 58 (on 20 point scale) in first 5 59 in last 3. Then full award, today match awards only. Not sure what is correct but seems like I should be considered full member of team.
Aug. 4, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top