Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is that because at this point in time the only youth programs may be catering to that category. I know some very good poker players who don't know the math but do pretty well in a no limit game.
Dec. 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The real question if we eliminated master points and went to a rating system would one think that it would increase, decrease or not impact the amount of bridge being played. I for one would think it would decrease.
Dec. 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think points per event or points per day is not a good recognition feature. We have a list at club website which is points per session played. I play on a Weds night most of the time. Strongest field at club. Sometimes C set at 2000 so we have 3 pairs in the c field. Typically first on Weds night is lower than my club average per session due to its size. I would still play since I still work but I expect there would be some who would choose not to play in small events(they already do) or small tournaments if we counted points per session or day.

In Florida some sectionals pay upwards of 17 for a single session pair games and as little as 5 or 6 depending on size of field.
Dec. 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Diamond will be ruffed. All others make 7.
Dec. 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So the poster wants to play in the open event and if he does not qualify than he can play a 0-10K the next day and the summer schedule has it right.

What about the players who want to play in the 0-10K events and if they do not qualify then shouldn't they have a 0-6000 event available.
Dec. 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually don't remember if it was honor or not. May have been before change for minor penalty card. Was several years ago.
Dec. 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I cracked my elbow and was using a card holder one time when I went to make a lead two cards came out. I called director myself before putting my opponent in position to decide what to do. Director let me make lead I wanted and since I kept lead I was forced to play penalty card.
Dec. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have played Double as penalty and double as takeout. I assumed the capital D in answer was how hard the double hit the table.
Dec. 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think this may have to do with something like Summer Nationals when Spingold starts on Monday there is a Womans pairs and a Senior Swiss available. So some either play Spingold or don't play in a National event for a couple of days.
Dec. 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peg sounds like you wanted to play the senior pairs and one of the 3 day team games. I expect everyone who only planned on playing the senior mixed pairs and then planned on playing the mixed teams Sat/Sun think this schedule is OK.
Dec. 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am also with that in terms of convention card however once playing a swiss the opponents overcalled 2S over my partner's 1NT on 1st bid. I asked what system they were playing and they said a convention I did not know. I asked for convention card to see what they were playing and they did not have a card. I asked what other bids would mean and was told they did not have to tell me since they did not bid it. So I called director who explained that they would have to play yellow card and then stated they needed to answer my question. Only time I called director for this type of issue.
Nov. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A slow table in knockouts versus pairs I would think is significantly different.

I have a pair at local club. One time when playing them they were giving a warning that would get a slow play penalty. One of my opponents asked “what is the slow play penalty”. I got up and wrote on the board.

Dear Director's,

How is it possible that so and so do not know what the slow play penalty is.


Lot's of warnings given but not sure penalty is ever enforced. I am rather quick so usually does not impact me but not enjoyable following a very slow pair.
Nov. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What would you have ruled in opponent held Kx of clubs and 3 good spades. Would you give player 4 tricks don't unblock hearts or diamonds and play clubs first or would you now claim that declarer would cash out first and therefore only lose last 2 tricks.
Nov. 23, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I actually like 1N-2♣;2♦-2♠ as 5-4 in majors to play. Not invitational. Although I play in invitational with 1 partner and just transfer to spades but I find it comes up far more often 5-4 weak to play than 5-4 invitational.
Nov. 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
James. Well if opponent intended to bid 2 and bid 1 I'm not sure how to determine if it is mechanical or insufficient bid. Since I would expect if 1 was opened than a bid of 1 would be expected. I always considered mechanical a call that may have been pulled in error. If opponent was thinking of opening 1 when 2 was called in front of him and then bid 1 I am not sure this is truly mechanical.
Nov. 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess it depends on auction. If partner opened 2 and opponents bid 1 claiming a mechanical error I believe that I should be able to accept this call even if opponent intended to bid 2. If opponent bid 2 director would need to evaluate hand on what the mechanical error was. Did they intend 2 or 3.
Nov. 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At 2 tables 1 pair is in 3N and the other is in 6 clubs. I expect there to be a large imp swing unless both go down. 1 pair in 3 Spades the other in 4 spades. Again large imp swing unless they both go down 1. Great declarer play that makes 4 instead of 3 is attributed to bidding. Both pairs in 4 and 1 makes 5 on great declarer play. Win 1 imp.
Nov. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My hand was 2 void 74 and I bid 3 diamonds expecting hearts to be breaking badly (they were 52 behind) clubs makes 2 on ace and a club lead or 3 without.
Nov. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael gives a good point. Once in a tournament after opening lead opponents claimed biffing an making 7N. Our teammate at the other table (who I would have thought a better declarer than one who claimed at our table) ended up blocking a suit and going down 1.
Nov. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One of the things not shown was there no other entry to the hand with the K7xxx of diamonds other than trick they are now winning. If there is an entry than I would always allow claim. If this was last entry to dummy I see the logic in not allowing or claiming declarer would block the suit.
Nov. 4, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top