Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Moschella
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
See comment to Andy 4 sections up.
Jan. 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm a weak team in 4th place guaranteed to make the final 8. The strongest team has locked up first. I am playing a weaker team then myself(there are some) having the best day of their lives in the final round on the bubble. Now it seems more of an incentive to let this team beat me to reduce chance that I play the strongest team which presently I could d by winning.
Jan. 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually doubled grand down 7. I opened 2 hearts on QJxxxxx opponents bid to 7 N which partner doubled. I would have led a spade on auction but was void so led Q of hearts. Partner held AKxxxx and we took first 7 tricks. Both opponents had 9 card solid black suits and both que bid hearts along the way. Neither could envision the other void.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yu, I recently chaired the Orlando Regional. I was captain of my team. Put my name first on line 3 and when entry went in I was at the top. I did not sit thru all the comparisons since I was dealing with other issues. Noise outside playing area nd such. I did not turn in all results but 1 round I returned and was told we won. I checked with other team and turned in result. I did not verify that all comparisons were correct. I assume that since teammates and opponents both agreed that result was correct.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I opened this intending to write this reponse.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray, I've been playing bridge fro 28 years. Thankfully the comments on this website didn't exist 28 years ago or I probably wouldn't be playing today. Everyone will try to cheat me and be unethical and rude which is not what I have seen over the years.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed, I was chair of Orlando Regional over 1st week of January. I filled in with a player when partner had issue and did not show up. Managed low overall but played as bad as I could ever imagine since thinking about far too much other stuff.

After I had misplayed 3 hands already auction of
1 P 1 P
3 P P P

Opponent led 2 hearts out of turn. Partner thought for long tie and finally accepted that I would play hand,

Partner was 3444 with JTxx of hearts and outside A and K. Don't remember exact hand but thought how can we not be in game. Now game was cold but I managed to make only 3 so partner or state of partner may come into play.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Peter I am in first place and have it clinched with a round to go. I am playing a team in 10th with 8 qualifiers just barely out. If they blitz me then they qualify and they are clearly the weakest team in field. Shocked that this team is in 10th. Losing to this time intentionally would allow one to pick them in draw and get easy draw which seems very wrong. Not sitting strongest lineup seems OK.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sitting your best players to give them rest when winning may not be valuable or needed is not the same as intentionally losing. When you have a 6 man team when you have clinched going to next day and may play some different partnerships this is not dumping although may decrease your chance of winning match,
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
MLB would schedule another game for the 2 teams to play. They would not give both of them a loss.

Sorry I do understand. We are afraid that 2 teams may collude to sit the same way, therefore obtaining a tie when it benefits both teams. So we will go out of our way to punish teams that at do this by accident. I would never consider sitting wrong way for this reason but expect if I would I would just make deal that we will play match and turn it in as a tie and loser byes dinner.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dave, You are playing a swiss. Caddies bring you wrong boards for 2nd half. 4 teams end up playing incorrect boards since caddie made a mistake. Do you believe all 4 teams deserve 0 victory points.

Recently at Orlando Tournament during Swiss one team had 2 members late to start of event. Director gave penalty based on amount of time and boards missed. If they did not show up to event do to an issue should other team get 0 victory points since they did not play a match.

Once at a Regional we started the 2nd round. There was 1 table where entries were not picked up. After one board director came over and told us we were moving to another table since there were 2 team that they didn't realize were in event and didn't match up. 1 director mover our table and another moved the other. I noticed we were in both same direction when moved and mentioned it to director who corrected before we started. I expect if I did not notice and it was a director error I would not have expected to get 0 -0 victory points when not the fault of the teams involved.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry 2 times tied for 1st with 1 round to go. Both more than a full match over 2nd. If they both sat the same way I would want to disqualify them from event if they planned on it.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I assume that this probably has to do with wether or not players at the Denver Swiss should have know the rules when sitting in wrong direction therefore the “Pros” should be more guilty since they should know the rules better than all.
I've been playing for 25 years. I did not know this specific rule when discussions first came up. However I know them all. I will say the one time many years ago when we sat wrong direction in a KO and discovered at 1/2 time comparison. Called director and stated basically play half a match. Seemed reasonable to me at the time and still does.
Jan. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well if you played in a swiss team and your teammates did not open 2 on this hand because they believe the rules did not allow them to then it seems like a potential problem that others should not be penalize if they ignore rule and open it.
Jan. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Vote for the worst or best.

How do you evaluate the poll results with this type of question. Some may believe 2N is best and some may think it is the worst.
Jan. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1. A spectator may speak as to fact or law within the playing area* only when requested to do so by the Director.

I would believe if I kibitzed the match and saw an infraction I am not suppose to say anything as if I was not at the table. If asked by director I can tell what I saw but am not supposed to initiate so I believe that a player at another table is different than a kibitzer.
Jan. 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I bid blackwood incorrectly and find that I am off 2 keycards but am above my suit at the 5 level I guess at this club I sit and think for a long time until director takes board away.
Dec. 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for comments. I bid 4C being void in clubs wanting a club lead against 4Spades but partner expected me t have a club suit.
Dec. 31, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
xx
AJ
Qxxxx
KQxx

Would this be consistent with bidding from partner or would we expect something else along the way..

For those bidding 6 diamonds I hope partner doesn't have something like this.
Dec. 30, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Cornelia
5. A spectator at the table shall not draw attention to any aspect of the game.

Do you feel the same way about the recent swiss where they sat the same way and turned in a tie as opposed to telling director. Another player was the one who let the director know.
Dec. 30, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top