Join Bridge Winners
All comments by John Portwood
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think East should have done something. East can deduce that West has a void or singleton Spade and hence probably quite a few cards in the other suits. Given that 3 is pre-emptive there must be chance of game. I will admit it is risky though and at MPs there is a case for not bidding - but at teams . . .
Aug. 31, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I expect W to hold KTX so I'll hope partner can set this with a decent or suit - in which case I lead A to find out which. If I am wrong then I would be on a 50-50 chance anyway (would prefer to lead J in that case.)
Aug. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can I bid 3 slowly or with an inflexion in my voice - or are we limited to bidding boxes.

If I bid game I stand to gain 10 imps (V 3S+1) and lose 6 (-1 V 3S=). Even against a 4-0 trump distribution I would expect to lose 1 and 2.
Aug. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would open 4 - best chance of a game, stops oppos competing in Spades (rule of 15 anyone?) and good chance that points are divided and suits relatively even.

Non Vul - I may be more circumspect and open 3.
Aug. 29, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congratulations to those who tried the unbid suit. The Q (or A) gets the contract down easily, the 7 blocks the club suit but it can be unblocked.

North

AT5
KQJ84
Q5
J64

South

KQJ87
A3
J743
83

and partner

9432
-
A982
KT952

(I think the 3 bid is an overbid and, once it has been made, North should surely bid 4) 1st rule of advanced bridge bidding - if partner doesn't bid no trumps they usually have a good reason)
Aug. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
if you do then the bidding will start off

1 3
3 4 - which must be a GOSH.

If partner then bids 4 (Redwood) the response is 5 (AKQ)
5 asks for Kings - I assume that the response would be for 1 King 5NT - but you are still uncertain about the 13th trick as you don't know partner has 8 clubs. Is it now 6 or 6N?

PS - As I understand it, you are not supposed to bid any variety of Blackwood with a void. Is this a record, bidding it with a void in the trump suit?
Aug. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the auction goes
1 2
2 3

What would you bid (if anything) on

AXX
AXXXX
AQXXX
-

Aug. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Technically no - we play it as forcing to 2NT only for responder (opener can pass 2 preference bid) - so would expect 2 | 3 (preference) 2 (4SF) 2NT Balanced hand about 10-12 3N = Balanced 13-14 (We play Baron (15+ Balanced), not Jacoby over 1 as we use different methods to show a major suit fit).

If it were GF (and if partner remembered!) I assume you would treat 4 as showing a solid suit. This would make life easier admittedly to get to 6

After 4 would 4 be Redwood?
Aug. 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Irrelevant for me - direct raises are pre-emptive - good raises go via 1NT. Simple.
Aug. 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
6 combinations of 7766 - 7766 7676 7667 6776 6767 6677
4 combinations of 7775 - 7775 7757 7577 5777
Aug. 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Standard Rule - lead from your shortest suit against suit contracts.
Aug. 25, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I hope not - not ruffing in would be irrational, not careless IMHO.
Aug. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Due to a unique set of circumstances and different rules in place than today. “Going to bed with the Ace of trumps” might be a hint.
Aug. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hasn't the revoke not been established when the director was called? If so West should be required to follow suit and then lead A.
Aug. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why not double! Your spade support is not fantastic but partner might have 5 spades, a singleton diamond and a weak hand. In any case he won't get too enthusiastic since you are already a passed hand. If he has something is spades then you could be playing the contract 1 level lower and opponents can't double your double for penalties.
Aug. 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Obviously not.
Aug. 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree - declarer must be assumed to have lost one trump trick through careless play.
Aug. 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well we were all beginners once.

I do feel that in the first case you should have advised the beginners that you were going to call the TD as you felt there had been an irregularity. Beginners are more likely to accept the word of an acknowledged authority (as well as someone independent) and the fact that there is a break will help clear their minds and concentrate on the explanation.

In the second case - well if opponents want to play 2 in this auction as asking for the majors then that is up to them. (After all they couldn't support clubs on the 1st round but partner is now balanced so should have some support for a major). IMHO you are much more likely to have 5 clubs and a weak hand than a hand that is 4-4 in the majors (bearing in mind that your partner may not have a 4-card support)

As for the last - well you have the usual 2 choices - play it as a transfer to hearts or show both majors (assuming 2 is to play). However what is your style - if you would have responded 1 to show 4+ hearts on the first round (not unknown) then 2 should probably show both majors.
Aug. 21, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
May I ask why didn't you double 3NT? Surely you are fielding a psyche?
Aug. 21, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am playing the jack as it might suggest to partner that I have a spade entry for the next round and it may be needed to unblock the suit.
Aug. 20, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top