Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Jonathan Ferguson
1 2 3 4 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed, a majority of people seem to have chosen that option.
July 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Winning and returning a spade might also gain if pard has Q9. So that covers half of partner's potential spade holdings.

Agree that Levin should split.

Having pitched one club (which would have been a loser if Helgemo had KQxx of clubs) it's hard to see how pitching another club could cost Weinstein (unless Helgemo bid and played like this with xxx K(Q/J/x)x Tx Kxxxx, possible?)

If Levin thought his partner was under discarding pressure he might have asked himself why his partner had yet to discard a diamond, the obvious ‘safe’ discard and discarded instead a seemingly risky club and heart. Doesn't a discouraging heart scream ‘Cash!’?

I'd give Levin most of the blame. Split the credit between the bridge gods and Helgemo.
July 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think this bid (without agreement) means ‘I hate science and I hate you.’
July 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I gave some thought to 7N. I even sympathize with 7N (if wrong,) but too greedy for me.
July 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You forgot the option:

I bid 4H, I believe that pass is a logical alternative contra-indicated by the UI from the tank.

Which is the option most players would take, swearing on their mother's grave that it's not true.
July 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Crazy 4N bid by your partner as it's far from clear (or even particularly likely) there's any safety at the 5 level or that the opponents (who probably have only ~20 hcp between them) were planning to bid. Lucky it worked out.
July 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you're going to open a 12-14 1N with the S hand for ‘preemptive value’ you should just play 12-15 NT.
July 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Larry did an amazing job on vugraph.

It's nice to be reminded that Meckwell and Levin/Weinstein are fallible. The next time I'm on the wrong side of a hand like that 1NXX I'll be able to say to myself ‘Far better players than I have done as badly.’
July 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand why W pulled the double unless this is a multi bidding misunderstanding. I don't particularly want to defend 4 undoubled hearts in their 6-0 fit.
July 22, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If someone else's cellphone ringing doesn't remind you to turn yours off, I don't know what will (except perhaps a penalty.)
July 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you had a 2D bid available seems pretty automatic.

When declarer finds out D are 7-0 he should be able to play the hand darn near double dummy, especially when you passed.

Also, not sure why you thought you hadn't given anything away on the lead. Not that it was a bad lead, but if I saw that dummy I'd be thinking ‘oh crap’ not ‘oh good I’ve given nothing away.' (Give declarer AJ8 of hearts and you've given up the whole suit.)
July 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If a powered-off cellphone had fallen from your teammate's pocket and she had called the cops, I'd have gone with ‘circle in Hell’ but unfortunately in a world where everyone thinks they're a Special Snowflake we need the occasional reminder that flouting rules to the detriment of others has consequences.
July 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The alertability of the 3 Clubs bid in puppet stayman (touched on in the article) is by far my biggest pet peeve about the alert system.
July 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But yes, you needed to scream at your partner to stop playing hearts as the auction makes it unlikely you had a stiff diamond (and your hearts might have been AT97 in which case the only way to beat the hand might well be to continue hearts followed by an uppercut.)
July 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Winning the first diamond and playing hearts is also the winning defense if declarer has AKxxxxx xxx Qx x
July 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The narrowness of the range, the form of scoring, and the threat of 2 fast spade losers in 6D all argue for bidding 6N.
July 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Norm!

I'm not crazy about the hand construction as declarer's line was terrible and the intuitive intermediate line of ruff club, spade to dummy, ruff club high, draw trumps, claim, seems to work. (And while it's true that hearts were 6-1, it hardly required them to be for declarer's line to fail as he goes down even if hearts are kxxx onside.)

A few typos: standards, although, sumptuously, giggle and the 6 of diamonds.
July 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would only psych exclusion if I felt avoiding that lead would guarantee me a good board. 5D doesn't qualify as I'm on a pure guess if pard shows 2 and might either miss a cold grand or bid one off 2 cashing aces (including the ace of trumps.)
July 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tough hand. I blame whoever got mad.
July 17, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I hadn't heard of the Rosenberg rule either. The Ferguson rule would be just the opposite. “Whenever you have the desire to make an undiscussed jump to the slam level, do it - you shall not pass this way again.”
Feb. 5, 2012
1 2 3 4 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57
.

Bottom Home Top