Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Kaustubh Bendre
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is it possible that Schapiro thought Reese held a singleton heart?

I suppose the coding would be ‘1 or 5’, ‘2 or 6’ and so on? (If so, the 5-5 fit would be known only after the raise to 4.)
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some players think it routine to lead through dummy's four card suit when they have a three card holding in that suit. The right card to lead may well be the unsupported honour.

There are unexpected benefits - on the auction 1m - 1 - 1N, my partner led the Q from Q10x. I held Jxx and we got two tricks in the suit.
Sept. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
People who shuffle their cards before putting them back in the board - right after we have manually duplicated the board
Sept. 13, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Phyllis, voters can choose only one option of the four. You want two answers. The set of offered options that will work is something like:

1. Penalty in both situations.
2. Penalty only in the first situation.
3. Penalty only in the second situation.
4. Not Penalty in either situation.
Oct. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
People don't look at a Bridge game the same way as they do an exam. It is safe to assume that people do not (and will not) use technology to cheat in Club games.

“I stand by my initial statement that it is a huge detriment towards getting people my age into the game. Love it, hate it, I don't really care. It's true.”

This comes from a 23 year old guy who probably knows more about Bridge (and texting, and Facebook) than a large majority of Bridge players. Instead of trying to impose wisdom, let us try and LISTEN!
Aug. 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dura lex sed lex - the CoC is harsh but it is the law.

Doesn't this imply that the results, as initially announced, stand?
Sept. 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like the concept, but staring at the edge of the partition would freak me out. I'm not able to describe this.. too “in your face”? I would keep shifting my chair to the left or right, and getting up after every hand.
Dec. 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the club (I was directing), I was called to a table after the opening lead - 12 cards in dummy, 14 with declarer - “Didn't you count your cards before you started bidding?” I asked the declarer in my sternest voice. “I did, honestly! I only had 12!” she replied.
Oct. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Exposed-card penalties can be far more damaging than revoke penalties, as has been discussed in previous threads.

Then, isn't it unfair if an opponent asks me to “check again”?

No, I'm not accusing Gavin of shady ethics, just something to think about for the law makers.
May 4, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Entering a deal into the pbn format is quite easy. You can use the Dealer4 software (for example) to then convert the .pbn file to a .dup file.
April 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What was the auction?

(Maybe West bid diamonds at some stage and once East produced the A, declarer placed the K with West, and was genuinely trying to save time..)
April 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What I mean is, they have the points, so it looks like they don't play the same ranges for overcalls/ dbl-and-new-suit that the majority do.

BITs bother me when they stretch. South wasn't stretching - when partner invites a game with 10, I'll accept with 18.

North seems to be inviting opposite something like 14-18. South is at the top of that range, so I would say this pair was always reaching game and the BIT didn't influence matters.
Nov. 14, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So they sweated their way to their 28-point, 5-3 fit Major game. I'm not even calling the director back.
Nov. 12, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It can only be the K!
May 23, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe East should play the K at trick 1.
Aug. 6, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for your views. I bid 2NT on this hand because
1. If partner bids 3NT, there's a strong ‘major suit lead bias’ on this auction.
2. I had a flat hand and and hoped partner had one too, in which case there might not be an advantage to the 4-4 fit.

Yes, West knew what to lead. No, he did not have a defence against 4 (which makes on a 4-3 fit!).

I didn't read him right, I thought for his DBL to make sense he must have something like x,x,KJ98xx, KQJxx.

My teammates weren't interested.
July 24, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
These situations confuse me.. they seem to be cheating, but if they really were, wouldn't they have rather easily reached 6?

Or did declarer know enough about the hand not to bid hearts, but not enough about bridge to see the slam?
July 9, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hesitation does not constitute an offence, using the UI generated by the hesitation does. I guess the ruling would depend upon whether PASS was a logical alternative to 5 for LHO.
May 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe Meckwell have a gadget for just these hands -

2N - 3
3 - 5 (5332 with 0/3 KC in , forcing to slam)

i.e., 5 level bids after transfers are responder's answers to opener's presumed RKCB.

Transfer the major, then transfer the captaincy.

Now, opener may have some way of asking for responder's doubleton.
Jan. 6, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doesn't South actually have a third seat 1 opening?
Aug. 28, 2012
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top