Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Kevin Rosenberg
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
if partner is 6-6 in diamonds and spades, I'm pretty happy with my pass lol.

Indeed, if partner is trapping, I'd rather pass than bid 3c
Nov. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was speaking based on experience talking to other players about the auction - but my sample size is pretty small I guess.
Nov. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is one double I really love to play as penalty, but I think it's probably more standard to play as t/o. Honestly, I think you need an agreement…
Nov. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ducking feels completely intuitive to me. We have no entry, and partner probably has a second club to play - I would duck trick 1, and would actually abstain here.

The fact that it's a poll what to play trick 2 also indicates we should have ducked trick 1.
Nov. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To be clear, I took very little part in organizing this event. I am just a messenger
Nov. 25, 2019
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems pretty silly to have a way to show club weakness but not spade weakness. Responder usually has some length in clubs, and opener could be 64 in the minors but probably not in diamonds and spades.
Nov. 19, 2019
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North might make a game try. The black kings is a pretty decent game already. Not clear though. South shouldn't do more.
Nov. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On all the auctions, double shows a more flexible hand. For example on auction 1, I would normally think bidding 3s showed 4-6 at least. Bidding is more shapely on all the auctions. I wouldn't say bidding promises 5 spades on any auction, but perhaps it should on 2 and 4. It seems difficult to sort out 4s bids with 5-6 and 4-7 shape, though I admit it's difficult to know what to do with 4-7
Nov. 19, 2019
Kevin Rosenberg edited this comment Nov. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was a bit confused thinking about the hand on page 4, because I thought I'd figured it out, but was surprised that RHO hadn't played the queen at trick 1, so was second guessing :)
Nov. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think using the term DSI is confusing. It's a value showing double, usually with exactly 4 spades. It's not penalty.

Not maximal because a major suit fit has not been confirmed.
Nov. 8, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is a 3c overcall a comparable call, is a better question imo. Mostly yes, but there are a few incongruencies like some 1n openers with no heart stopper.
Nov. 6, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you play with this partner regularly, you can probably be expected to know what his BIT means better than we on bridgewinners could guess. This is a problem with polls concerning BIT
Nov. 1, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South has a pretty clear Blackwood bid imo over 4h. Bidding 4s will not accomplish nearly as much. South really has a slam force opposite a keycard…
Oct. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
South's decision to not bid slam over 5c seems impractical. Partner usually has 4 hearts and isn't expected to show the queen on length with 4. North might have chosen a different bid than 4h, which is why I gave them part of the blame. Still, South has a great slam opposite k9xxx axxx xx xx, so they should receive the majority of blame
Oct. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It would be strange for partner not to have 10 cards in 2 suits. At the least, it seems to me that passing isn't a good choice.
Oct. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've always just bid 4H in competition on both hand types, but obviously that can make partners life hard in competition.
Oct. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it's not clear yet, but one possibility the way I play would be not hearts, and 3 spades.

3451 obviously possible, as is probably some hand which just wants to cuebid spades (though I might try not to do this to avoid ambiguity). Hands without real hearts pretty much have to clarify it more than once I think (e.g. bid 3S then 4S, or something of that nature), but of course, this usually is ok since responder will have 5+ spades when they raise hearts.

It definitely can be difficult to sort out when slam is in the picture as well, and I'm not sure I have a great answer evening playing with myself as partner.
Oct. 20, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lee, I disagree with point a) as a clear assumption. Further, if 3H were natural, then 4H would definitely be natural. Others have given 5-7 hands for example, that could logically want to be in 4H.

There are some situations in which you can logically deduce that there's been a mixup. The paradigmatic one is when you bid 4H to play over a 1NT opener, forgetting you play Texas, and your partner alerts and bids 4S. Here, it's been determined that you are allowed to wake up because the 4S bid is truly impossible. I don't think this case is in the same category, however.
Oct. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
i agree that such an explanation is never necessary by the rules, but I was just saying that I don't have a problem with saying, “our agreement is majors, but it seems like partner might have forgot”.

The alternative is saying, “our agreement is majors”, and then looking at them kind of pointedly. Your pass already clearly implies you think they forgot in certain situations like this one, which is why I don't have a huge problem with saying it… It's probably not technically legal I guess.
Oct. 18, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well because I think pass is still obviously a LA. If partner could have had hearts before the double (that is to say, if partner might have thought you had clubs), then there is no reason why that still can't be true after the double.

In fact, I think there's basically no situation where pass is only a LA before you get penalty doubled.
Oct. 18, 2019
.

Bottom Home Top