Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Kevin Rosenberg
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think you have to define it. Usually when dummy has Jxx, I think of it as “safe” to encourage with a doubleton, which is not the case when dummy has xxx. This is of course because declarer will usually not figure out to duck with Axx, though a very strong declarer might look at my signal and realize they can (but it's difficult to do this unless they've already planned to look at my signal).

Anyway, I don't think there is a simple generic answer. But if dummy has xxx, I do think encouragement should normally only be done with the the A or J, because declarer can duck the trick. When dummy has Jxx I think it becomes less clear. There can be general stylistic discussion, but I think a case-by-case basis really is necessary.

The general stylistic question you are basically trying to answer though, is, I suppose, “signal for what you want”, vs. “signal what you have”. Both approaches are imo fine, as long as you agree.
Jan. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Others have summarized the nuances of this situation pretty well. I'll just say that next time, it's probably a better idea to just give the spots and asks which card we play, rather than using the suits as options. That takes away some level of nuance which could be important on many hands
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
against strong opposition, the KH at trick 2 may not work. they will either shift to spades (in which case it probably will), thinking they need to cash out, or they will work out the blockage and play back hearts. They know you have at least one running minor when you lead out your 3 card suit.

At the table, of course if you are lazy, you might play as David mentioned above, and get your hand squeezed. But this line is almost sure to fail, especially against decent opposition (unless the diamonds break that is.

I think the best line is probably to win, cross to a club, and lead a spade. This, at least, will almost never go down when the AH is onside, unlike leading out the KH. The key defense will be for RHO to hop up with a spade honor and shift to hearts. This should also be found pretty easily by a top player, but is at least harder than the other plays mentioned I think. Also, I can still recover to make even with the heart ace offside when spade honors are split and RHO has 5 hearts.

I do fail when diamonds and hearts both split evenly, with the AH offside, but at least I make them defend well.

I suppose on the actual hand, I would probably go down since both spade honors are offside.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you can't splinter in a major over the x, then it is almost unplayable to have to bid 2nt with a singleton in a major, at least without followups
Jan. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's not true that you lose space if you asked how we show a good raise. Personally, I play jump shift in om is limit plus. So I lose one bid when opening 1d (3c being the limit plus bid), and gain 3 when opened 1c (2d being the bid)
Jan. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
when you open 1NT, and the opponents overcall 2H, you could ask the same thing Peg.

There is more need for an invite opposite a wider-range it could be argued, so perhaps that is the best agreement, but at any rate, I, like many who chose lebensohl I'd guess, have the agreement to play system on over a balancing NT, which includes system on in competition… So my answer was based on what I'd always play, and not what I thought was necessarily optimal.
Dec. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the right thing to do here is bid 2S and then jump to 4D over 2NT. This gets the picture of a 6-4 with slam interest across I think. Certainly if keycard is going to be bid, I prefer it is diamonds.

If partner raises spades I may regret my choice.
Dec. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think partner is 3424. I doubt any other shape.
Dec. 19, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think double is penalty but 2d is also natural. Not every hand with diamonds wants to double 1nt.
Dec. 13, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would normally finesse unless I know the opponent is a capable player. If I don't know them, then the event I'm in might have some bearing, but I would normally finesse.

It would be very different to me if the length were in the dummy. Then i would only finesse against players I was confident didn't know this idea
Dec. 12, 2019
Kevin Rosenberg edited this comment Dec. 12, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Multi is a situation where many inexperienced players, especially American players due to our rules, don't know how to bid very well. Then again, most bidding situations are situations where inexperienced players don't know how to bid very well. All I'm saying is multi isn't some imp generating machine, and that if they won by a lot, it probably wasn't mostly because of multi, though of course it could have gotten them good boards.

I agree with what you said about emphasizing the rules to players in their language before entering events.
Dec. 7, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If at the table I thought that 4N might possibly have been taken as just keycard, then of course I would roll it back. But if there was no indication that South thought 4n was anything but what he said, then there should be no adjustment.
Dec. 5, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Clearly, anyone who plays multi and wins is a dishonest person who knew they were breaking the rules. After all, multi isn't legal anywhere else in the world…
Dec. 5, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm guessing 510 would be a good score in any event…
Nov. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
if partner is 6-6 in diamonds and spades, I'm pretty happy with my pass lol.

Indeed, if partner is trapping, I'd rather pass than bid 3c
Nov. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was speaking based on experience talking to other players about the auction - but my sample size is pretty small I guess.
Nov. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is one double I really love to play as penalty, but I think it's probably more standard to play as t/o. Honestly, I think you need an agreement…
Nov. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ducking feels completely intuitive to me. We have no entry, and partner probably has a second club to play - I would duck trick 1, and would actually abstain here.

The fact that it's a poll what to play trick 2 also indicates we should have ducked trick 1.
Nov. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To be clear, I took very little part in organizing this event. I am just a messenger
Nov. 25, 2019
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems pretty silly to have a way to show club weakness but not spade weakness. Responder usually has some length in clubs, and opener could be 64 in the minors but probably not in diamonds and spades.
Nov. 19, 2019
.

Bottom Home Top