Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Lauritz Streck
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, you have a classic strip squeeze ending in hand with K and K10. If you can guess West's shape you're cold, so that's much better than the proposed solution where you also have to guess the shape and needs some extra assumptions.

In fact, this play is so much better and so much simpler that I can only assume that Kelsey initially intended us to have 9 instead of the 10 and messed it up later. In this case, hoping that West has QJ10 and playing for the proposed solution is the best we could do.
Jan. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would do neither of the above, but ruff and play K. After this auction with South making slam tries I would place East with 5 spades (Doubling on Axxx and out looks like a sure way to disaster when South could easily have 6 spades). In that case, playing trumps won't make because you loose control, but a cross ruff approach has chances.
Say West wins his A and returns something. Cash Q, AQ. If West shows out on the Q, play a to the king, cash K discarding a heart and play a heart. At that point we have six tricks in the bag. Ruffing in doesn't gain for East and if he discards or follows suit, you can ruff, play a diamond and eventually ruff a diamond high in Dummy for your tenth trick. That will make if East has 5332 or 5233. If West has 0427 you will be down one.
Dec. 28, 2019
Lauritz Streck edited this comment Dec. 29, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Craig, if partner has two out of K, Q, K but not the Q, he would have something like xxx AK xxxx KQxx which looks like an opening bid to me.
Regarding your second point, surely xxx Ax Qxxx KQxx for partner and AK Kxx xxxxx 10xx for declarer is consistent with the bidding?
Oct. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, unless someone passed 12 points, partner has to have the Queen of Diamonds. And even though some players do that from time to time, in this case partner would have AK+KQ while declarer probably would have invited game with 12.
So I would cash DA, DT and see what to do from there depending on what partner signals.
Oct. 23, 2019
Lauritz Streck edited this comment Oct. 23, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Looks like the key decision. Just playing small seems to be with the odds. If you run into a ruff and hearts were 3-3 all along, too bad
Oct. 15, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is no good entry to hand to play the spade finesse (clubs risks running into a ruff which shouldn't be hard to find), so I would win the A and play a heart to the king. If it wins I'll play on spades and try to discard a diamond, if someone wins the A it depends on what they play after cashing the diamond. What happens thence?
Oct. 14, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the layout is such that South ducks the first trick, the 6 is optimal (North needs one smaller pip to have an option, South has one smaller pip he's ducking with and both West and South need another pip that is smaller for the throw in not to work without unblocking => 4 smaller pips out there). But one could go for

52
KT9864 7
AQJ3

where West leads the ten.
Oct. 13, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Surprising lead considering the bidding, so it looks like East will have a lot of major suit cards. Best appears to play 8 to the Ace and the spade finesse, keeping the danger hand off lead. If only one club loser, that's 100%. And if there are two losers in club it will most likely be West with KQx, so chances do not appear to be much worse than when playing another club.
Sept. 28, 2019
Lauritz Streck edited this comment Sept. 28, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Deleted, Duplication
Edit: OK, since there are already replies: I mentioned the Squeeze, gave the example of a hand like 109x Jxxx xx Jxxx and said one had to rise queen to make, unless taking a shot lateron.
Another edit: Screw it, after you updated your comment I could have left it deleted ^^
Sept. 23, 2019
Lauritz Streck edited this comment Sept. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The “anomaly” in question was playing a hybrid system (Natural when vulnerable, Precision when not). Varying the minimum number of cards shown according to vulnerability was forbidden according to the CoC. There simply wasn't any other pair who attempted to play anything like that, so they were the only one affected.
Sept. 2, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's not a problem as you have a simple squeeze then. However, the double squeeze doesn't work as East can just pitch like Dummy.
March 5, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ben,
What was your example hand meant to show? In the hand a heart lead still doesn't accomplish much (flip KQ or don't): Declarer wins, takes a spade finesse and has a type R double squeeze with as pivot suit (I think the best play for declarer after your intended (?) heart return is to hope that RHO has the heart guard leading to a compound squeeze after cashing Q and A. This leads naturally to the double squeeze if declarer guesses the shape.) Interestingly, no lead can break the hand: A low diamond messes up the entries for the double squeeze but isolates the diamond guard.
Oct. 10, 2018
Lauritz Streck edited this comment Oct. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unfortunately an entry to dummy is not always of advantage ;)
The full story at our table was that declarer won the trump lead, cashed A and another high trump, then crossed to dummy with the last trump and advanced the Q. There is visibly no dummy entry left, but he just had the feeling at the table that his RHO ducked the K. We were the only pair across the room to go down in anything.
It was the last match against Slovakia, the other table was in 6NT and the match was pretty balanced. In the end the swing was large enough to advance Slovakia to a qualifying position for the world championship!
Oct. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the European Youth Championship 2013 in Wroclaw there was a 31 point hand: AKQ109 AKQ A AKQx. Back in the days we bid to 7 after 2 - 2 / 2 - 3/ 7.
Dummy was Jxx xxx QJxx xxx. I'll let you figure out the best plan.
As I recall about half the pairs were in a grand, clubs broke 3-3. No recorded collapses either!
Oct. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If partner has the J it doesn't matter. With that card declarer has already shown 17HCP.
Oct. 6, 2018
Lauritz Streck edited this comment Oct. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But can't South can just let go of his spades? Declarer needs them for transportation for his Simple Squeeze. The king of spades will be the squeeze card.

Actually Declarer can always make on the Double Squeeze if he believes North to have KQ. But the order of play would be different, unless I'm missing something.
Sept. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even if North guards spades, one has to decide what to play for when pitching on the last club from Dummy. Thus, following the odds, one will always go down.
Sept. 9, 2018
Lauritz Streck edited this comment Sept. 9, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Natural and gameforcing, either looking for the best game or slam. You need this bid to be forcing to judge between 4, 3NT, 5 or a slam, but “natural. Slam interest” is to narrowly defined. I would expect a close to unanimous vote if you added such an option.
Sept. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I chatted with Maciej some more now and neither of us knows decidedly in which circumstances one has to clarify bids meant differently to the opponents. Would one have to alert 3 afterward or to highlight the opponents to not being sure what it meant even if they don't ask? And in which circumstance does one have to tell them if the explanation of partner doesn't fit the own hand? How much should be interpreted in “probably…” anyway? I used to say “I think…” and changed to “I don't know but will take it as…” now. What is the correct way of saying it? There seems to be some disparity of opinion in the comments as well as to how “probably” should be interpreted, so perhaps there should be a standard phrase to indicate that one is not sure but still wants to provide the opponents with some information.
Both of us would be really glad if people would comment on their answers to these questions!
March 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Apparently, the rest together with a few sentences of me were lost when posting the comment, so here is the rest:


Greetings,
Maciej

PS. Piotr asked by TD told that he was counting if it is possible that we don’t have two aces and the queen and I bid a cue, that’s why he was thinking after 5 hearts.


Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write this statement and to clarify things!
Secondly, I'm sorry not to have asked you before posting this poll and terribly sorry that I ever believed it to be possible that you bid on after 5 without a mix-up occurring. I will handle this differently if I ever pose a ruling question again.
Thirdly, you're completely right about the issue of the queen of spades, my partner said later that he didn't notice the implication at the table.
Fourthly, the ruling wasn't important to us either as we weren't in contention either and we could live perfectly well with ”result stands". I was asking out of mere curiosity.
Lastly, it was a great tournament and we'll be absolutely happy to come again! We didn't think this to be discouraging at all.

Sorry to everyone who took the time to read or comment before all the facts were settled and I'm sorry that the poll probably can't be accurate anymore. I would be thankful if you commented on your ruling with all the information given, so what would it be?
March 27, 2018
Lauritz Streck edited this comment March 27, 2018
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top