Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Linda Marshall
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 52 53 54 55
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The current district 6 website is www.districtsixbridge.org, but I see that they only have a very limited number of Robinson Roundtable articles there (and their newsletter issues online only go back a few years too).
Sept. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sometimes the opponents need to know from you about a substantial likelihood that partner forgot, but in this auction everyone can work that out from your explanation and partner's break in tempo. What could partner possibly be thinking about unless she forgot?
Sept. 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
FUHL also works.
Sept. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the Washington, DC area (which is an expensive real estate market), most of the bridge games are in senior centers, rec centers, churches, and synagogues because the space is affordable. We haven't had dedicated bridge space for a long time (and even when we did, it could only serve a small part of our community because it's a big metropolitan area and traffic is terrible).
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When declarer is trying to guess a queen, I would expect both defenders to be equally alert. Both of them want him to guess wrong.
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Discarding from that hand isn't always that easy. Partner might need count in a particular suit first, or you might need to pretend to protect a suit to avoid giving the show away to declarer (and it's not obvious which suit that is). Or one of your x cards might actually be a guard.
Sept. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The tank could have been to choose between 2 and 3, in which case avoiding making a slam try because of the tank would be wrong.
Sept. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sometimes it would be obvious that only one player has anything to think about, even if the other players' bids are shown at the same time to each player.
Sept. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's reasonable to want to know how many trump declarer expects because that's a good indication of declarer's minimum trump holding.
Sept. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, the finesse would have been free if taken at the first spade trick but now isn't. My point is that, since her partner chose to pull the double rather than sit, and defending 2 gives them a plus score, there's more matchpoint upside to taking the finesse if it wins than the matchpoint downside of taking a losing finesse.
Sept. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Apart from Michael's point about having to have the king for his raise, taking the finesse is essential if it wins and unlikely to be that bad if it loses. If it loses, then they were making 2 for -110 (and -100 still beats that), and if it wins, they weren't making 2 and a negative score won't get many matchpoints.

Edit: this isn't exactly right because if Michael's pard has the king of spades, that would give him zero board entries playing 2 and he'd need some help from the defenders to make. All the more reason to try to go plus.
Sept. 7
Linda Marshall edited this comment Sept. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've grown out of caring about what bad bbo opponents think about anything.
Sept. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it's important to be able to bid 1N natural there. Many pairs who play those methods (including me with a handful of partners) will respond to 1C (which can be as short as 2 with more diamonds than clubs) with very little.
Sept. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partners and I play that 2 is to play in partner's minor and 2 asks for partner's major if she has one (and pass or correct to 3 if no major). But we play Robinson, not Woolsey, around here.
Aug. 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wouldn't you double 1N with the strong, balanced hand? And wouldn't 2 still show majors? If those two things are right, then 2N has to show some 2-suiter other than both majors (therefore clubs and a major).
Aug. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is the switch obvious too, or just the first two tricks? And if not everyone will get that switch, will the declarers who don't get that switch have chances to make other than taking the finesse?
Aug. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Marty–Do you know whether there's a plan to update the alert chart to conform with the new convention charts? It seems to me that this update would be a good place to address prealerts of methods that are allowed under the open chart but are unexpected and hard to handle without discussion beforehand.
Aug. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I wouldn't have opened 1 with the north hand either.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Even though 1N isn't forcing, most pairs don't have a lot of natural bids other than raises. I think it's better to show your hand starting with the artificial jump shift to 3 and include partner in the decision.
Aug. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael B, this bid is disallowed if it doesn't show average strength (first and second seats) too, even in segments of at least 6 boards. The two rules are separate grounds for disallowance. Passing one rule doesn't help with the other rule. I agree with Michael that 1 showing a single major doesn't appear to be disallowed if at least average strength and don't see why that's easier to defend against than 1 showing, for example, spades and at least average strength.

The reason I can't bring myself to answer this poll is that I keep wanting to cross out “allowed” and write in “not disallowed by this rule,” and Bridgewinners won't let me.
Aug. 15
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 52 53 54 55
.

Bottom Home Top