Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Michielsen
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What I mean is that partner isn’t aware of a misunderstanding and might be headed to a diamond slam.

I don’t mean to discuss all the different possible auctions here and what is the right auction.

My only point is that saying that you can never end up in a slam missing two keycards is too easy when both partners possibly assume a different trump suit (and might answer the wrong number of KC).
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To partner, 2C shows diamonds. He is supporting your diamonds, not the other way around.
Once he bid 3D, that fit is established. For slam purposes you might just as well play in diamonds as in spades, right?

I never said the ruling should be slam-1, just saying that ‘they would never bid slam off 2 KC’ is not as clear as it seems.
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I didn’t read all the reply’s, but say that you continue with a 2H cue is, partner 3D, you 3sp.
It might not be clear to partner you have 3 spades and if you have a Blackwood auction he might show the king of diamonds as a KC.

Not sure the ruling should be slam-1, it is hard to predict where the auction would end without the UI.
But surely the 4sp bid is an attempt to end the auction before any accidents would happen.
Aug. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congrats! They didn’t only win the bridge, but also the prize for the best dressed team!
July 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually i would think it is more misleading in this case to think and then play the jack, doesn’t that look like you had KJ in your hand?
Why would you ever play the queen from qt or q empty here? Aqt is possible but rho knew that wasn’t the case.

Did the director change the score? That would be really really strange imo.

In the case described by Debbie someone hesitated and then won the king from KQxx (dummy had the ace and he was sitting behind the dummy.) I think he hesitated because he was considering ducking the trick, but there I can very well imagine that you mislead declarer by first thinking and then winning the king.
Don’t remember the appeal decision but this is not comparable to this hand imo.
Feb. 19
Marion Michielsen edited this comment Feb. 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well done Georgiana and the other operators. Great work, especially if it was the first time.

I would like to add that it’s often better to guess which card a player played, than asking. An operator asking several times which card you played can be disturbing, but even worse, can give away a hand.
Once I had to guess if the opponent had a singleton or doubleton in a suit, but then the operator asked if he could see which card he played. Not too difficult a guess anymore……
May 21, 2018
Marion Michielsen edited this comment May 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Everybody that says that they wouldn't open a 15-17 NT, all white, with a 5332 15 count just makes me laugh.
I cannot imagine anyone opening anything else.

How south can bid 6 is a big question to me. Make the queen of hearts the king, and north would have bid slam himself and it would still only be 50%.
Jan. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
in Sweden there is really nobody that would even consider 4 being Gerber, if undiscussed.

(for what its worth, I think it is better to play 4 as a balanced slamtry and 4 as KC. Especially with hearts as trumps. You are so low that the extra step for KC usually doesnt matter, while a last train might be worth gold)
Jan. 8, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My experience with the new rule is that , apart from a few top players who seem to know/care about the rule, absolutely nobody pauses anymore after a skip bid.
Dec. 19, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is not just about declarer having a double stopper in diamonds.
KQ7xxxx without a side entry is just very unlikely to set up all the diamonds.
Declarer has to have a stiff ace, or partner needs 3 diamonds.
OTOH it will very likely blow a trick.

Diamonds 2-2-2 only gives you one extra trick on the diamond lead, assuming you won't get it otherwise (and since both opponents are limited the chances increase that you will get your diamond anyway)

So a diamond is just a very poor lead IMO.

For me it was between a heart or a club but I have to admit I didn't first understand the implications of the EW system.

I don't think a heart lead will help partner set up all his hearts right away. I just don't like to give a trick on the lead in MP, thats why I discard a diamond.
Oct. 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The inference wasn't clear to me at all from the OP.

If we know that opener has 4, 5+ and a diamond stopper, how can you lead anything else than a heart?
Oct. 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know that Han Peters ran several simulations on this before and came to the same conclusion.
He also found that 3NT more often than 4M only could be defeated by one specific lead (defenders long suit) and that this is not always easy to find as it might be the partner of the leader who has the long suit.
Sept. 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
France as the host was directly qualified, therefore 6+France
Aug. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Did the bidding really go like this on board 3?
It is unclear from the Chinese CC but it looks like they play 13-15 NT opening and 1 can be 11-12 NT. (since they play 2 way checkback after a 1NT rebid I guess it shows a balanced hand too weak for 1NT opening)
Now west decided to rebid 1NT with 15 points and east raised?
Or did west bid 2NT and east raise to 3? That makes more sense to me.
Aug. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You might be able to watch the matched back through Youtube.
There is a really nice feature now where you can watch the match and the play together (so both the diagrams with the play and a video stream) that might still be available
Aug. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
.
Aug. 14, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From a time difference perspective it might be nice to put Europeans on in the afternoon and Americans at night.
July 25, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After 3 quarters today

Strul-Caplan 88-99
Monaco-jolly 67-78
Lorenzini-Pelka 113-99
O rourke- burg 112-107
Onstott-swig 102-92
Woolsey-grosset 56-107
Silver-Gipson 119-125

All other matches the highest ranked team has a big lead
July 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After 3 quarters today

Strul-Caplan 88-99
Monaco-jolly 67-78
Lorenzini-Pelka 113-99
O rourke- burg 112-107
Onstott-swig 102-92
Woolsey-grosset 56-107
Silver-Gipson 119-125

All other matches the highest ranked team has a big lead
July 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you dislike people asking questions you should play a less complicated system.
I very much prefer people asking every bid than the ‘lead directing questions’
July 20, 2017
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
.

Bottom Home Top