Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Marion Michielsen
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To even suggest that the Dutch team would commit fraud to change a result in favor of the Chinese women team is a joke to me. They have no interest in the chinese team and even if they would, they would never do that. Same goes for the Chagas Germany match. That they would magically come up with a doubled part score on the last hand so that both teams qualify is not cheating or a conspiracy but just plane paranoia.
Stop crying and play better yourself next time.
Nov. 1, 2015
Marion Michielsen edited this comment Nov. 1, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great ruling! I get so tired of all these people that dont have any agreements or dont understand the question.

I remember I once played in Switzerland against an Italian pair. They both played high-low in a suit. No convention card, pretend not to understand any English. We tried in German, French, and they did not understand anything. Finally we got a director who spoke Italian. They insisted that they would not give honest count and play randomly, but IF they would give count (again, they claimed, very rare) it would show odd number of cards. Guess if the suit broke 3-3 or 4-2.

This summer we met a pair that has played together for 20 years and has represented the Polish national team several times.
The auction went 1NT-2- 2-2- all pass.
They claimed that they didnt have any agreements about the 2 bid. They played stayman and transfers, so even the spectators knew that the 2 bidder had both majors weak. It was the first board of what turned out to be a rather unpleasant match. Because I wasnt really damaged (cant really say I didnt know what declarer had) and didnt want to start a war at the first board of a long match I didnt call the director. But it just amazes me how some people want to play bridge.
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi David,

Just to avoid any confusion: I only posted the letter here as I found it on the Dutch website. I did not write or translate anything myself.
Oct. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes but he can also know that the answer ‘no’ can never be the full answer. Because either
1. 5 denied a cuebid in clubs, and opener, having already showed a minimum, has to bid 5 or higher with a club cuebid
2.Or 5 is primarily looking for a heart cuebid which opener denied
3.Or none of the above. They have other or no agreements about cuebids.

The answer ‘no’ can never be the full answer for any of these explanations. If it depends for your lead I think you should ask what implications it gives about cuebids in the other suits.

I'm not stating that ‘no’ was the correct explanation, just that it might not have occurred to me that one would think the 5 bidder has a club cuebid anyway. As it maybe did not occur to the people at the table.
Especially in this sequence when there is no other way to ask for a cuebid in clubs, while if you have both a cuebid in clubs and diamonds but not in hearts, you can bid 5 and then bid 5 if partner responds 5.
Oct. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it is important to you if one has denied/implied a cuebid in a specific suit you should ask more questions than ‘is there anything I need to know ’ IMO.
Everyone plays cuebids differently and depending on what you are used to you might want to know if they denied a cuebid in clubs (European style) or not. I for one would be surprised if the dummy suddenly did have a cuebid in clubs, but I've played in the nationals long enough to ask if it is important.

It is a little too easy to me to not ask any specific questions and then call the director.

But I have to admit that I would also have answered your question with ‘no’. Rightly or wrongly but it wouldnt occur to me to mention this if you dont ask for this. But as mentioned before, this might be a cultural difference.

Oct. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I won't post the hand details. Its more about the principle for me and I don't want a discussion here about if LHO (who has won several medals at international competitions) was just tired or if she was making up something.
Oct. 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it is not allowed to think/tank about preempting/psyching/advance sacrificing and then pass. Ok sure you can think a little but not half a minute or a minute when your RHO already waited 10 seconds.

Of course when partner opens a weak 2 you can think about bidding game/raising to 3/bidding 2NT/ any other clever bid/pass and this might for sure be a difficult decision with many options to it. But when you waited long enough you usually already “achieved your goal” by scaring your opponents out of the bidding.

In Chennei one of the directors asked me for an opinion on this hand. I have no idea which match it was.
AQxx x xxx QJxxx
All white. LHO 1 , partner passes, RHO 1 , you double, LHO rdbl (3crd support), partner 3 . After a pass from RHO you might consider an advance sacrifice or maybe there is less chance you get doubled when you bid 4 directly. I would never (even think about) bid myself but maybe others would. To me it seems that you just should decide one way or the other. The player at the table thought 30-60 seconds (dont remember how long it was) and then passed. He did very well because his leftie got scared now and passed it out while the opponents could make 4 . Well done. Dont know what the final ruling was but I hope they turned it back.
Oct. 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
"You could have known that the BIT could be advantageous”
Does this rule also apply in defense?

I got ruled against in Chennai when I called the director when my LHO paused nearly 10 seconds with KJx in the dummy when I played the 9 from my hand. She had Qxxx and said she was thinking about playing the queen. I'm not saying she was not telling the truth but this is a rather self serving argument and she could certainly have known that the BIT could be advantageous (anyway I was just naive myself because usually the longer people think the more reason you have to play the jack)
Oct. 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Michal Rosa: I quote you:
the Swedish players knew that they made the knock out only due to a scoring error.

What kind of BS is this? Of course the Swedish team would have corrected the score had they found out about it. Who are you to say that they knew but didnt say anything? I was with the Swedish team at the airport and can ascertain you that they found out about this after I read it on bridgewinners.
The Swedish captain even said this below.

In general it disturbs me how many people just post ‘facts’ without having a clue what they are talking about.
Oct. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From what I understand of it, watching the livestream, you don't miss out on much if you can't hear what they say.
Sept. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bbo I only play on my computer. I was talking about another site.
Sept. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play bridge online maximum twice a year. I just don't like it, I can't concentrate and bother to watch all the small cards and even get myself to think longer than 20 seconds when I need to think.
One of my strengths as a bridgeplayer is my table feeling and my concentration but online bridge just feels ‘hollow’ to me.
I actually tried as well to play at a table with all my opponents to play on a iPad (everyone their own iPad) (albeit in a bar) (this was some exhibition match for an online bridge site at a previous national) and this felt just really weird and had for me the same concentration issues as online bridge.


Apart from that, one has to keep their iPad under the table or you can see everybody's cards.
Sept. 18, 2015
Marion Michielsen edited this comment Sept. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No thanks. It seems to me as pretty ridiculous to fly all the way from Europe to the states to go and play online bridge.
Sept. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There also seems to be a committee in the committee, that has meetings, but I didn't apply for that.
Sept. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In Sanya was the Open World Championships in 2014. And no, I got an invitation to join the committee and then a confirmation.
Sept. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I seem to be in this committee since Sanya but that's the only thing I know about it…
Sept. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On the first hand I think he had heard Lotan coughing!
Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Who said Kit send the problems without carding agreements? He send a link to the FS convention card and specifically added that we should read the leads and carding before answering to the problems.
He also tried to explain all the bidding but with some opponents playing unusual methods there were 1 or 2 hands where you didn't know what (all) the bids meant
Sept. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree that the hesitation is important, but to find out if north is allowed to pull 3NT after the hesitation, we should ask ourselves what he would have bid without the hesitation.
Sept. 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that if you want some usefull answers to your bidding problem you should not put in such a suggestive way : just post it as a normal bidding problem: ‘what would you bid’ istead of ‘can you pull’. dont include the hesitation and dont include partners hand.
If you just want to complain about a ruling, of course your way is the way to go.
Sept. 13, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top