Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Michael Askgaard
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
5 not 3.
Dec. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree David. Very bad ethics if dummy tried to talk OP out of his trick. Same thing when I revoke. What I can't do is to put pressure on them to say “pick it up”. It is their decision to say that if they want. I should proceed expecting them to want to do it by the book and accept that in good spirit.

If dummy was just being angry (and not applying pressure) then it was “just” bad behavour.
Dec. 1, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think we might want to calm down a little before jumping at the throat of the organizers.

What I see is a quite tendentious report by a very disappointed player, whose team got knocked out in a brutal way (a scoring correction during the normal and stipulated correction period).

Our match was 1 of 3 that allegedly ran very late. I can't recognize this at all. To the best of my memory we finished the play within time. The tournament had a generous 90 min for 10 boards with strict starting times, so many matches finished early in every round. This might well be the reason why Mr. Jaszczak felt he had to wait forever to get the final result after they had finished their match.

Also I don't see reasons to assume that there was “no supervision” or that improper information could reach those still playing. There were closed doors to the playing area at all time and plenty of directors around.
Nov. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Who thinks that?
Oct. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A court in Norway would surely have jurisdiction, so they can sue there if so inclined. Does Norway qualify as a “proper country”?
Oct. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is how the champions league qualification ended for the Danish national champions in 2012:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1_RQI8Lcno
Oct. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Q and run spades.
Do I like to win that way? Yes. Because in fact I never win anything unless they make brain farts sometimes. Bridge is a game of mistakes, and they just made a big one. Declarer should work on his execution. TY and next board please.
Oct. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Anybody in a world championship who did spot the blockage problem before claiming would surely know to mention it in the claim.

Anyways, the main point is that the result can be logically explained.
Oct. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
SASA will go down in 7N if they dont spot the club blockage in time and dont unblock before the diamonds are run. TD should for instance rule -1 if there was a claim at T1 with no statement of plan.

Doesn't look suspicious to me, just like a normal blunder.
Oct. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With this extreme hand I don't care what partner realizes. I want to find out if he has A. If yes we are playing 7. If no we are playing 6.
Partner has denied four hearts. So he is not going to raise 3 to 4 (unless perhaps with no diamond stopper and three good hearts, and then I know enough to bid 6). But he WILL bid 3N on most hands with a diamond stopper, which is what I want to hear.
Good bidding is about getting to the right contracts.
Oct. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 is a bad bid. We can't describe this hand to partner. We should instead make bids to learn about his hand. I would try 3 instead of 3. Then we would see if he bids 3nt or not. Possibly there are even better plans, 3 or 4 maybe to get a diamond cue. But we don't want a cue on a singleton.
Oct. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The lead was strange. >> > >>
After that the defense was nothing special. South did in fact two bad things. 1. Throwing a spade which might have cost a spade ruff, and 2. Exiting instead of which would have been fatal if W had had a trump more and a less.
Oct. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Part of the problem is that the open tournaments (teams/pairs) are seriously cramped (and thus way less attractive than in the old days) because the mixed tourneys take up so much time.
Oct. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
to ace at trick 2. Gives N the chance to split his potential KQJx. If the ace captures air, I continue clubs to establish the suit. If clubs are 4-1 they need to shift to a trump but probably will.

Sneaking a to the king should be less likely to work after showing a 6-5 than the risk of losing control with trumps 4-1. So I'm not going to try that.
Oct. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
He will encourage, if he thinks that 4 rounds of spades is it.
Otherwise he will discourage spades and give suit preference at trick 2. So low (at T2) with a possible club ruff, high (at T2) with A.
Oct. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Would I withdraw from BB based only on this?”

I'm sure I would. Having teammates thrown out is a big thing. If anything I would want to err on the safe side here to make sure, I'm not being part of any of this nonsense. After all, it's just a tourney, new ones will come.

But I realize:
1) it is all very easy for me to say,
2) what if the evidence were even weaker? I dont know where the line would be, it is a concrete judgement call,
3) the individual polish players were in a very tough position when their federation didn't want to withdraw.
Oct. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bad idea.

If I were cheating and wanted to get clean, would I
A) Shout out to the world that I am a cheater even with the amnesty, or
B) Quietly terminate my partnership and have a fresh start for myself?

Obviously B. Unless I knew there were already strong video evidence optained in which case I might consider A. There is generally no incentive to fess'up as a cheater in bridge. If I didn't get caught in or shortly after the act - I got away with it … this time.

So is this suggestion aimed specifically at a “4th pair” from the euros, from which there are videos on the youtube? Or what else?

I would under no circumstances grant an amnesty to such a pair “next in line” at this point. That would indeed be unacceptable.
Sept. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To spell out my sarcasm: This poll makes very little sense without specifying the context.


Good posts have been made about “curruption” and detroying “a decade of events”.

For FS and FN I don't see that there is any coming back to top level bridge. (For PS I need more info than just the brief confession. I need to know how bad it was before I form an opinion.)

But for me it would be fine if they were allowed to play in secondary events after a period of suspension.
Sept. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
… and in the real world I think 2 years of imprisonment is appropriate for breaking the law.
Sept. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This letter seems to imply that EBL is sadly without teeth in these matters.

It can't be expected that an NBO will go about and file formal complaints to EBL unless it has quite solid material.

Ergo, EBL will tend not to be seriously involved in a cheating case until the dirty work has already been done by others.
Sept. 8, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top