Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Owen Lien
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You can qualify at any club and then play in the finals of the district in which you are registered. I have done so myself.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted “scrambling” but now I’m in doubt. Thinking about it, that really only caters to 1=3=3=6, unless you regularly overcall 2m on 5m(332). Based on that, I think that 2N should be natural even though it breaks my rule that 2N is not natural when responding to partner’s t/o X
Feb. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I vote for 5
Jan. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also, the director was correct that the partner of the person who made an illegal X is barred from the auction and, since you ended up as declarer, there should have been lead restrictions (I.e. you could have forbidden the lead of any suit not named by during the actual auction by the offending player)
Dec. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually, I don’t believe that a player that is required to pass is permitted to inquire as to the meanings of the opponents bids while the auction is still live since it cannot possibly affect what call they take.
Dec. 10, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Len, please don’t forget that the ACBL also includes Canada, Mexico, and Bermuda.
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2N - 3 // 3 - 3 shows at least 5/4 either way in the majors. I forget the follow ups
March 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The directors instructions seem correct. To not explain that you would show a limit raise with a hand like this is to not be following the requirements of full disclosure. Even if you haven’t expressly discussed that this hand should make a limit raise, you have an implicit agreement to do so. I would recommend that you explain your limit raises as “shows x to y support points, at least n trumps, and may be based on distribution rather than HCP.” That may seem long-winded but it really doesn’t take long to say and follows full disclosure principles.
March 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I just want to say that I enjoy the symmetry of tricks 6-8 and that dummy has two four-of-a-kinds which is something I’ve only seen once before. Declarer also has two four-of-a-kinds. I know Michael is accurate with spots, so this is pretty incredible.
March 28, 2018
Owen Lien edited this comment March 28, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Having played 2 double negative for many years, I have recently switched to starting with 2 waiting and ambiguous as to strength. The first reason is that a 2 response preempt opener’s natural or birthright (a/k/a Kokish) 2 rebid, forcing that hand to start at the 3-level. Also, it seems nobody discusses to what, if any, leave the partnership is forced to after a 2 response. The closest thing to a definition I’ve heard is “I’m going to pass if you rebid 2NT.” It seems there is limited utility in an immediate 2nd negative if the partnership is still forced to 2NT, 3M, or 4m as over a waiting 2 bid but if no force exists after the immediate second negative, then you may severely limit opener’s ability to describe their hand as they may fear their rebid ending the auction, thereby forcing opener to guess unnecessarily at the final contract. In the context of 2 ambiguous, I play 3 2nd negative over a 2M rebid and have no 2nd negative over 3m rebids.
Feb. 21, 2018
Owen Lien edited this comment Feb. 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1110 still possible - 4m X +2 vul. Saw this once as a BAM win against 1100 at the other table. Was frustrating because the defense dropped a trick trying to beat the contract.
Jan. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I play with most of my partners that 3 would be natural and invitational but inappropriate for a penalty X. i.e. the same hand with AQJxxxx of . Therefore I’m obliged to settle for 2
Dec. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I hope you mean the MIT blackjack team.
Dec. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
S has abused UI. N didn't alert 2 as intended. Behind screens, S would not be privy to the failure to alert and would only see his partner's failure to double 2. However because his partner didn't alert the bid, he knows his partner wouldn't X with a heart preference (as it was alerted as a transfer) which is ill-gotten information from the failure to alert the 2 bid. I think S gets what he deserves from his use of UI in that he should expect his partner to X with a good holding since he's shown hearts already. Result stands.
April 17, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Interesting possibility in the final match for Sweden to do some unsportsmanlike dumping if Sweden were to try to lose to USA 2 in the junior division. Seems unlikely considering the teams in 7th and 8th and how close the top few teams are in VPs; but still possible.
Aug. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have this hand - could have an A and a K less and partner has forced to the 5-level. How do I not force to a grandy? I XX first in case partner can make a sensible correction to 7NT. If I had a void and wanted to bid 7, I would do it without XX first.
May 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
XX to be followed by 7
May 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No - this one of the many potential things that partner could do after you choose to respond 1NT and I'm just trying to find out what people would do over a 2NT re-bid (there's also one with a 3 re-bid).
May 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Gonna set up two other polls with other potential re-bids by opener - 2NT and 3.
May 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, I was asked about this hand by a newcomer while directing at the club today. She passed and was trying to understand why it was a 0 and whether passing was right or not; and, if not, what the correct response would be and why.
May 19, 2016
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top