Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Péter Talyigás
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For me yes. For my previous partner yes. So I did.

For my present partner not, therefore I would not.
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sadly enough it turned out that there is no such a common sence about the Lightner doubles here :(

(Obviously there should be.)

The rules are clear: it has to be alerted. Still there was only one table where both East and West alerted the double of East (actually it was our table, my partner run to 6N, tribute for all of my table mates). There were a few tables where only one opponent alerted and there were 3 where none of them.

When we asked the players, most of them answered that they had never spoken about it with their actual partner, so they didn't treat it as an agreement but more of a “normal bridge”.
April 27
Péter Talyigás edited this comment April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Andy,
I was undecided between 2 and 3 exactly because of this reason - but finally it seemed confusing.
Maybe I should have done your way.
April 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
They were in 7
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
John, the “no alerts above …” only applies without screens I guess…
April 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes.
Thanks, I add it to the disclosure.
April 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Richard,

At the MP pairs first division we had one pair withdrew because of the tablets out of the 32.

At the national final of the IMP we had exactly the same number of pairs than in the previous year.

At the International Budapest Bridge Festival we had more pairs and teams registered and played than earlier.

We start the IMP pairs first division today and I have no information about withdrawal - I am at the provider side and not at the Federation but - as far as I know the only pair withdrawing from the MP also plan to take part this time.
April 9
Péter Talyigás edited this comment April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Avon,

The “something” you are looking for is here.
You can check the few official Hungarian competitions already played with tablets here:

https://vugraph.lovebridge.com/

The most important are the MP and the IMP championships and the IBBF.

To try it once only shows that the Hungarian Bridge Federation is brave and innovative. To continue with the system shows the acceptance.

It is exactly as you wrote: the broadcast is perfect and all the data – what you mentioned and more – are available.

Today we start the first division of the Budapest IMP pairs: we play 8 Tuesdays. In the upcoming weekend we will have the National MP final played with the LoveBridge system again. You can follow all of these on the link above.

About the separated players my personal view is that having North and East in one room and South and West in another is good enough.
April 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For me it seems that it depends on the opening style. If you open “every” 13 cards then East might have liked the many controls and the little shape. If you are a bit more conservative than that, West might have insisted to bid the game.

But… to be honest… I don't feel that any of the “might”s should be changed to “should” in the paragraph above.
April 7
Péter Talyigás edited this comment April 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Last sentence of the 5th page: club 6 instead of diamond 6.

(edited)
April 7
Péter Talyigás edited this comment April 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The main point of this poll is that you can never meet, never even get close to the achievement of my sweet opponents (two LOLs, obviously).

South pulled out the 2 bid from the box, placed in front of her but did not release it, kept for a second and put it back. She repeated the process with the 1 bidding card. Third time it was the 2, same process. Finally she decided to bid 1, continuously saying “I am sorry, I am sorry” from the very beginning to the very end.

I think she described her hand quite precisely.

Her partner with 4=4=4=1 and 17HCP didn’t even bother to invite to game, bid 4 right away. :) :)

(Please don’t ask, I did not call for the director, they were cute and lovely and wouldn’t even understand my problem, so I smiled and accepted my 6 MPs out of the 30 - which was actually a gift, because they were cold for 12 tricks (3 MP), but somehow she managed to keep it at 11.)
April 6
Péter Talyigás edited this comment April 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you.
(Uh.)
March 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can someone please tell me what is the failed Score project?
March 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It didn't work for me 10 minutes ago.
Now it does.
March 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually the system in question contains minorwood, in an extended format, where the first step is positive, the rests are negative and answer to the RKCB.
March 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For those, who complained about the initial pass of South: I cannot explain in details why South passed, because my hand sitting at W was:

A10xxxx
x
KJ8xx
x

South gave a 2 minutes thought of his second pass (over the 5) so I did not double fearing that 6 will be much better for NS. Later I regretted my decision and finally I was looking for some justification here :)

Now I delude myself with the dream that the huddle suggested that my South was among the bidders… (6 was going down 1 but I think noone could have doubled. 5 ended +300)
March 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have just tried and it works for me. What browser do you use? It might help to try in Chrome.
March 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
(For my great surprise) I strongly disagree with the consequence.

IMHO the question whether the 7H is automatic at your level is almost irrelevant. Maybe one level lower it is not automatic because having some silly fears. Maybe three level lower it is automatic again because of not even seeing the risks. And so on.

The question is what the player in the hot seat had in mind. And the player answered our question when he did not bid 7 over the 5.

If we take into consideration his earlier decision then we can see that the 2 minutes coming over the 5 helps a lot to reevaluate the hand. Partner says: think it over! And you do. I beleive that this has nothing to do about your (K.W.) evaluation with the hand. The only relevant question is the player's evaluation and the change in mind.

I might seem severe. But I see this argument very often and I never understand why the top players think that what is clear for them is clear for everybody. It is not so at all.

Not that the player in question would not be a good player. He is good and experienced. But at that board he did not see the Grand at once only with the second chance. And I think his second chance could have been legitimate only if there would have been no further help…
Feb. 18
Péter Talyigás edited this comment Feb. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Melanie,
I play a lot of board games with my kids and I am fond of the F2F activities.
Our software is designed to play face to face, at the venue. :)
Peter
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Dear Michael,

I also do not think that it worth to argue with your feeling and experience. I still have the confidence to state that the software we created is better than you can imagine :) :)

I also would like to underline that with our solution you are not isolated like a player of an online website: you sit at the table and see your opponent as you do it with the cards (and move the same way round after round and so on) …

Still: I admire the renaissance-man in you.

One of my greatest bridge memory is connected to a concert. At the entrance of the concert hall a friend of mine cried my name and rushed to me, asking for paper and pencil. Scratched a hand and stated: “I was told that I could have made this four hearts, but I couldn’t find a way. Help because I go crazy”. The concert started in a minute. When we met again after the performance, I asked him: “Your sketch have only x-s, no small cards. Did you have the deuce of hearts in hand?” “He said: how should I know?” “Who said that you could have made it?” He named the player. “Okay. I know him very well. The clue to the hand is that you had the deuce of hearts and you should use it wisely. Now you can solve it.” Not only I did not touch a card, this board became a symbol for me without playing it.

Finally I show you, how a not-so-young-fellow can adapt the new technology. My partner will turn 70 this year and he plays top level bridge since his teenage years. We played together in a final, where tablets were involved. I have never seen anything like this before (just sit in my place and listen how I will be NOT endplayed):

https://vugraph.lovebridge.com/screen/visoft_216924_1_1?screen=replay&ns=134888&board=9&buttons=off

This early crocodile-coup saved my trump trick (even when it happens not easy to see how and why it is the right play). It’s just too bad that the coup went only for the second undertrick. But this is real bridge at its best.

(Tbh: this is so nice that I have already shown this board here in the Bridgewinners, but most probably you have missed it as I foolishly put it at the very end of a long article, what a waste of beauty :) )

All the bests,
Peter
Jan. 4
Péter Talyigás edited this comment Jan. 4
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
.

Bottom Home Top