Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Ping Hu
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In current BBO setup, alert needs to be made by the bidder, not his partner.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ray, we are getting into uncharted territory of online bridge. In current BBO setting, it is the player himself who need to alert of bid. He does so by click the Alert button before making the bid.

Yes, we would have a problem of what happened if opponent asked him and he realized his mistake. If UNDO is allowed, he might be able to change his call. That is a separate question.

The problem here is that the failure to alert resulted in MI. The poll tried to determine what would happen without this MI. As I mentioned in Stu's response I think there is a great possibility that the final contract may still be the same.

I don't need another poll to find out what North would do with EW actual agreement because North had shown me he would pass in the real game.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
James, this is online play. As we discussed later there is no clear law for online player. I have raised this question to Jay Whipple last year when he was “In the Well” that ACBL should establish some rules specific for online bridge.

If you have played on BBO, you would know the requirement is exactly “player alert their own call”.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I believe he continued 2nd later.
March 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes. I agree. The problem is the rule for online play is not clear. In BBO it is the bidder who is required to alert by pressing Alert button before bidding. I also agree with your analogy that this is like East had both opponents as ‘screenmates’. So if this was a DONT double, East should have alerted. Then NS might ask and he might realized what happened and I don't know what he would explain. Here he did not alert and NS had no reason to ask what X means.

East was very likely to realized his mistake when his partner bid 2 and decided to just play as if it was takeout double. He did not alert NS. So I would think this is a case of MI. My poll was tring to determine given correct information will NS bid differently. The results are all players with South hand passed. With North hand more players bid 3 than pass. Should this be considered as harm? By the way the other table NS played 3 making 5.

If North bid 3, East may stil bid 3 as I know this player is capable to do. It may still end up in 4, but there would also be a possibility NS would bid 5. I'm trying to determine what is the appropriate rule as TD.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West led since his partner bid it.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Chris,

Isn't X showing single suit hand require an alert? It is a conventional bid. Isn't a failure to alert a MI?

My poll for North with correct information are here:
https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bidding-problem-2-hc2xotuhcj/
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kyle, this is a case that illustrate online play is different from face to face. I'm the TD in this case and I also had my sympathy for NS players.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I stated, East bid X as DONT but it would be a takeout X for West. As far as NS know, it is a takeout X. East then realized the mistake and decided to play it as TOX. Most players with East hand would pass West 2 bid. East opted to bid 3, this would show a strong hand and forcing in EW agreement. West raised to 4 was natural. East clearly made a mistake with X. And it should be alerted.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kyle,

This is online play. East supposed to alert his X when he made that bid. NS would ask and found out it was one suited hand, although West would be in the dark. As my poll showed most players with North hand would bid 3 after 2, then the outcome could be different. East could still made his 3 bid and west raises to 4. NS might sac at 5. It is not clear what the results could be.

Since East played this hand and did not say anything at the table, NS did not know until the play were over, then complained.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you agree X showing one suited hand should be alerted?
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
See my answer to Art. By the way the other table NS played 3 making 5.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What I suggested is given the correct information NS might bid differently. As the poll showed, most players with North hand would bid 3 after 2, that would create different outcome.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No. The bidding at the other table was (4S) X - 4N all pass. So East played 4NT. Quite unusual.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since the other table was not being complained we did not ask. I don't know exactly what 4NT means in their agreement after 4X. It could be quite possible not for play but W happened to have a hand he wanted to pass.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
NS play Precision. With S open 1 showing 11-15, North XX showing value and no fit seems normal. NS had no special agreement on this. The only doubt I had is if they frequently upgrade their opening bid like this, pass is a clearer choice and they had information not available to opponents.
March 15
Ping Hu edited this comment March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, W doubled and E bid 4N.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is from an online game. East did not see 1 and X as DONT. West could not see the alert and treated it as takeout.
March 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed. NS had 11 card S fit and made 2X when E passed at table.
March 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A neat solution indeed.
March 5
.

Bottom Home Top