Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Robin Hillyard
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 86 87 88 89
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
(1) Supposing that East really wasn't sure of their agreement and knowingly quoted an agreement that they didn't actually have and then (2) compounded the problem by taking a very questionable call based, perhaps (as suggested above) on his partner's reaction to the explanation, then (3) it seems to me that a procedural penalty might be appropriate.
July 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wow, this post has generated so much discussion! I'm a bit (actually, quite a lot) embarrassed to find that I made such an idiotic comment in the very early days of this discussion. There have been so many good comments by Michael Rosenberg, Kit Woolsey, Frances Hinden, Steve Bloom and others, all world-class players, that I unequivocally retract my comment to the effect that passing over 4 was an error.
July 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why didn’t I bid 2S last time around?
June 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Barry, I wouldn't put it in quite the same way (“how much defense do you need to pass?”). The question should be do I have any undisclosed offensive assets? A sixth heart (or very good hearts) is such an asset. A four card spade suit or diamond suit would be a very definite asset. If I had any of those three assets, I'd bid them. Failing all of those, you must be 5332 or 5422 with four clubs. I would pass with either of those hands.
June 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems to me that South forgot to play bridge after opening 2. While doubling 4 isn't guaranteed to work out well (could be -790), NOT doubling 4H is likely to result in something worse. I'm reminded of the expression: He who lives by the sword, dies by the sword.
June 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Having said that, it might be a little too dangerous to double even if we do want a heart lead (we kind of expect one, anyway). The double could be re-wound to our detriment.
June 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's hilarious, Ben. I'd better not mention the name of the person holding your hand ;)

However, I will point out that we are in the best spot. Correct defense will earn us an unassailable top.
June 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe it would have meant: “I really want you to lead hearts.”
June 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Deleted
June 14
Robin Hillyard edited this comment June 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You're all probably wondering what the story is here. This seems so obvious. Well, what I didn't tell you is that West is a “Junior.” There are a couple of things about Juniors. They love to open 5-card weak twos; they love to double, mostly but not always for takeout; and they love to bid 1NT over an overcall, regardless of whether they have the suit stopped or have four of the other major… Now, do you see the problem?
June 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, you can bet your bottom dollar that West has fewer than three hearts.
June 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Life is really a lot simpler if you follow this rule: once a natural notrump has been bid in competition by either side, all doubles are penalty. Now, that wasn't so hard, was it ;)
June 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the first hand, the robot bid 4.
In the second hand, the robot bid 3.
Well, three people (over two hands) agreed with the robot so you can't say he was completly off base ;)
These were boards 1 and 2 of a 12-board robot tournament.
I withdrew ;)
May 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Reverses promise another bid (that's the traditional way) so 2 is forcing for one round and simply says I have 5+ spades. I don't have a problem with agreeing that 2 is a game force, but I don't think that would be “standard” in this situation.
May 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I apologize for missing 4 as an option for the first hand. I assume that most of the “something else on hand 1” votes would be for 4.

So far, your votes have at least restored my faith in humanity.
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oops, I'm sorry I missed that one. It should have been an option of course.
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is there a story here?
May 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Very droll, people :)
May 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A simple rule which I've found works well after a support double is that everything that's not a new suit by responder is “to play.” It's occasionally unfortunate (as here) that this means no DSIP doubles after a support double, but you can't have it both ways. So, in your auction, 3 was “to play.” 2NT would have been “to play.” And 2 would have been natural and forcing to at least 2NT or 3.

The final double, therefore, would also be for penalties. I think it's hard to introduce a four-card spade suit after one of the opponents has laid claim to the spade suit. But, if you do want to offer spades as an alternative, it has to be bid–double won't work (as described above). Does N have enough to bid 2? Just. Maybe. Because he has knows that the partnership is relatively safe in 3 or 3. But it's easy to see that sitting here looking at all four hands.
April 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Summer, 2021. Providence :)
April 29
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 86 87 88 89
.

Bottom Home Top