Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Scott Needham
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 35 36 37 38
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Really? Because I generally have no idea what other considerations might inform the choice….Maybe I should've added “No other discernible tendencies.” See Hank Meyer's, below.
Oct. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seems like the proper stock answer would be something like “Partner will look at his/her hand in light of his/her interpretation of the auction and decide whether to lead actively or passively. ‘Passive’ might include leading from a J, while ‘active’ would usually include leading from shortness or a high honor.”
Oct. 20
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4N and 5m are always intended to play. Q ask is the next non-4N,5m call, here 5.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We allow 2M openers on 5cds. What's wrong with opening all less than Rule of 22 mitts with 2M – even more preemptive – and maintaining some defensive standards for the 1M openers?
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hypothesis so wrong….
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pard uses honor loser count – so yes.

EDIT: That's AKQ honor count, so each above = 3 losers.
Oct. 12
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Anyone up for some sim help? I'm floating the hypothesis that there are very few if any 11-count 4432 7 loser hands and that the 7-loser 11-count requires a 5cd suit. Also, a canonical 7-loser 11-count will contain at least 1 1/2 QTs. Hah!
Oct. 12
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pard has refined his talking points: Won't open 8+ loser hands. Which in this context, I suppose, means the 11 count 1 has to include a 5cd minor. OTOH, AKxx Axxx xx xxx is 8 losers, and I open it all day: Thank you Edgar.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not dumping this guy. I'm gonna learn this style, and let him take all the blame for its failures. That's more than just, isn't it?
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is 4 by N after S's 3 just a torture bid or does it suggest a major suit?
Oct. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Remember, in the Old Days, that warm fuzzy feeling of clarity when partner made a Strong Jump Shift (my suit, your suit or NT)? IMHO, (probably too) frequently stated here, the best thing about 2-Way or XYZ is the ability to recover a description of responder's SJS hands by his/her jump rebids. One side effect of this is the use of XYZ or XYN-2N–>3C to show the weak hand (or as a relay into other strong 3-level rebids). Too good to give up.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ER: Dist 6 has done itself and bridge players everywhere a disservice by modifying their site to exclude all of these extremely valuable and interesting articles. Who doesn't want to know what experts prefer? The link I provided is to an Indian site that apparently archived the old D6 pages, but it is only the Game Try article. For the rest,:
http://bridgeinindia.homestead.com/WASHINGTON_BRIDGE_LEAGUE_DT_6.html
Sept. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've never had a problem with: (1) KB suit is always the KB suit unless it has been bid TWICE (some definition of “bid” is required), and (2) – to allow splinters and exclusion – to initiate KB set trumps first with a GF auction. Just haven't had too many layouts where we wanted to bid 4 to play as only the second time were bid, but YMMV.

Holds true for Redwood also, though now I'm getting ready to argue with a partner who wants all jumps to the RW suit, and all bids of the RW suit after a voluntarily-reached 3N, to be RW regardless of lack of (express or implied) suit agreement. Just what the heck is wrong with setting trumps first?
Sept. 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Mike: No one said it was right, only possible; hard to result when you don't know the layout. In my preferred Stuff, it would probably go 1-1/1N-3N, and we'd likely be -1.
Sept. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After your quite revealing auction, you have no choice but to play 5. I kinda like 1-3N if I can't rebid 1N with the W hand (presumably the opening leader held the 3cd, but from which side?).
Sept. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm alerting and explaining “Club suit or diamond suit. Partner expects me to bid 3.” Playing 4-suit transfers, I alert 2 and explain “Club suit”; 2N gets “Diamond suit.”
Sept. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Egad. Why can't N bid 3 (either stopper or advance cue) over 3? Then there is no ranking problem with the cues, and opener can keycard.

Just saw MH comment just above.
Sept. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are several hand types – usually 6-4ish or the like – that play cold games with the NT bidder in the slot, or in the happy circumstance that the NT bidder has concentrated strength. Just need a way for CHO to show a likely dummy entry.
Sept. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
General rules: All of responder's second round jumps are GF+/slammish. All of responder's third round jumps, after s/he has used the 2 relay or the 2 GF, show quality holdings in the suit of the jump. I'd just as soon 1-1/1-2/2-4 didn't exist, but it might be used as an anomalous sequence (like 1X-1Y/1Z-2/2-3N = COG, mild slam invite, 5cd Y) to show a 4cd or raise with SOLID 5cd , to distinguish it from the GF+ raises that many people put through 1X-1Y/1Z-2N–>/3, where 3-level calls now show some 4X-5Y or 5X-4Y 3-1 or 2-2.
Sept. 3
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 35 36 37 38
.

Bottom Home Top