Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Scott Needham
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
wish 4D was minorwood, hope 4N = 1430….
Sept. 17, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I asked about Sandwich b/c if They do play it, I'd expect the 2N call to be at least 6-5 – and, without a good reason, I'm staying out of that, at least until They pick a suit. But Adams' choices seem reasonable in principle.

Agree with Lynn: Folks have taken to looking at cards to discover Sandwich and, when it is there, They will take liberties if the opportunity presents.
Sept. 12, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
x & y are any suits allowed by the auctions? and y<x in 3) & 4)?

these 1) & 2) 2N pairs play Sandwich?
Sept. 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One deal proves nothing; however, from a team game last week:


AQJx
VOID
Kxxx
QT9xx

K8x………….x
AKQxx………..JTxxx
Qxx………….Jxxx
Jx…………..Axx

T9xxx
xxx
Ax
Kxx

S deals:

P-1H-X-4H
4S-5H-5S AP +650

At the other table, W opened 1N and played in 4H, -1.



Sept. 7, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
unless, of course, it's not. Someone might be able to make a frequency argument that would be persuasive….
Sept. 3, 2012
Scott Needham edited this comment Sept. 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you cue 1st round control only or 2nd?
Sept. 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yep. Both times R v W, both times poor score.
Sept. 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like through 3N. Had a couple of bad results after 1M-(3N)-?.
Sept. 2, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks, I do understand – that's the objective.

Yes, I am relatively inexperienced, having taken 30 years off of bridge for various reasons (lots of reading and study and some random play in the interim), and only playing tournaments for the last 4 1/2 years or so. I am finding as I play up – my favorite events right now are Bracket 2 or 3 KOs at large regionals – that many competitors in those events use the alert procedure and the laws as part of their arsenal (oughtta be a checkbox on the card “aggressively use questionable interpretations of the Laws to interfere with opps' play”), so for some time now I've been thinking I must make study of the Laws a part of my game. You undoubtedly see why ;-)

I'm lucky enough to have detailed agreements with most partners, so “imagine screens” works quite well for me (and is likely to be the only criterion I can apply ATT to any good effect.) Cases 1 & 2 are pretty much no-brainers to me, b/c I have agreements I prefer in those situations, and I understand the problems that arise if agreements are not in place; the question whether I would allow a call is not one I need to consider, so I don't need to pursue those minutiae. I just need to be able to do my best when and if a situation arises. Unfortunately, this goal is complicated by the poor rulings we see from directors, and the varying opinions they hold, on many issues.

Onward and upward. Wishing for a comprehensive ethics handbook; resigned to having to peruse the appeals case books. Maybe you'd like to do periodic articles for BW, in the form of 5-10 question quizzes? That kind of exposure to relevant issues would be a considerable boon to a high percentage of BW readers….
Aug. 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
and I am sure many are thinking that I am complete non-cents.
Aug. 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, kind of obvious set of examples, where I've got two suits to bid. Re-rethinking what I meant to ask, obviously framing my question poorly. Got straitjacketed into a situation whee I'm jsut thinking about support bids….

(If I'm going to bid 3D, can't you give me the QD? please? Not sure whether I'm being competitive or forcing here, but if I had the QD, and P bids 3S, may I now bid D until s/he shuts up?)


Aug. 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had another long thing focusing on why I think “attractiveness” is a poor criterion for why the 4S bidder can't bid, but I'll spare you all. (It has to do with – never mind.)

My thinking boils down to a question: Is there any “convention disruption”/failure-to-alert-by-partner situation, WHERE P DOES NOT TAKE ANOTHER CALL, in which I CAN, ethically, call anything but pass? I'm thinking the answer is negatory, but if there are some classes of auctions, please advise.
Aug. 24, 2012
Scott Needham edited this comment Aug. 24, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
KW: “On the third hand, obviously the 4? call should not be allowed – nobody who understands the rules would dispute that.”

Except maybe the opps, who, it would seem, stand to benefit from the 4S call in 96.375% of actual deals. ;-@

So here's another wrinkle, aimed at the “committee,” not specifically at KW. Are opps OBLIGATED to call the director, and to try to get the 4S call disallowed, on the ground that it is a technical violation (and maybe conscious ethical lapse), rather than happily allow the offending pair to sit for what will likely be minus 5-1100 a lot (maybe a very high percentage) of the time?
That is, are opps bound by an obligation to the field?
Aug. 23, 2012
Scott Needham edited this comment Aug. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
TY, Aviv, the “sources of information” criterion provides grist for the proverbial mill. As I implied above, this kind of convolution in thought process is new territory for me. I'd have said 4S by responder might be very, very stupid, and very bad bridge, but I'd have been 90% sure it could not be a violation; before today I never would have gotten to the “set of possible hands held by partner” rationale. And, IMHO, there are three categories of behavior to consider: outright, planned cheating, unethical actions and violations of the laws. State of mind matters: our primary ethical directive would seem to be to behave as we believe the laws dictate in the situation presented. And I gotta say: I'll bet 90% of non-highest-level tournament players would be flumoxed by DR's and your explanation of Case 3, though this kind of situation seems old hat to some posters. I'm all for education; who's going to write a useful handbook?
Aug. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Somewhat – but I was referring to the convolution in thought processes required in this kind of situation, not to your explanation. TY again.
Aug. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
TY for this – I just want to take this opportunity to say, with all sincerity, that it is anything but clear. :-& Now I just have to figure out how to generate a broader rule.
Aug. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Case 2: 3D is inv. Is 3H prima facie a slam try? Can it be a HSGT? If the first, “imagine screens” would suggest 4H, unless our FJ agreements allowed QJTxx, then 4D; if the second, 4S. I just know I'm wrong about this….

EDIT: Phil has 3H right, I think, as general inv: 3S if the second.
Aug. 23, 2012
Scott Needham edited this comment Aug. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to be clear: I think anything but pass is bad bridge on this hand. What I don't get is why does the failure to alert and, by extension, I suppose, the set of hands P may hold (KQxx xx Qxxx Qxx – yes, it has happened) make 4S more attractive?
Aug. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Stating what I thought was obvious, but apparently isn't to all: In Case 3, the failure to alert makes it more likely a bid of 4? will be successful because partner can have many hands where he would have bid 4? himself had he known what your bid meant.”

Gonna have to chew on this for a while….Now you're saying that “imagine screens” isn't enough? that is, you seem to be saying that basing my future behavior on the (I thought mandated) assumption that P has correctly alerted won't fly, that the mere failure to alert requires me to bar myself? and that this is because there is a set of actions that P may have taken if s/he did alert (based on the set of hands s/he might possibly hold)?
Phrased another way, you seem to be saying that I am barred b/c P is never entitled to know either (1) that I have a Drury call or (2) that I have S at all; yet another way: that I am barred b/c I can take no action that might awaken P to the failure to alert? That's a possible rule, I suppose, but it seems very much irrelevant at this point in this auction.

All I know from 1S is that P made that call, and that it presumptively reflects whatever understandings we may have re: 3rd seat w/w 1M openers and P's failure to open 2S or 3S or 4S – why am I not entitled to conduct the auction as if P had a 3rd seat w/w 1S sub-min opener, which is what I would've thought had the Drury call been alerted?

My head hurts, and I don't mind admitting to honest bewilderment. For some time now, I've been trying to work out a set of rules that I can use to guide myself in the various different kinds of UI situations, and it looks as if one of them is toast.

Apologies for the length of this response….
Aug. 23, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Right, assume P alerted–but w/r, is 4S a LA and do I need to make my choice of call based upon that criterion (E.g., hm-m-m-m, yes 4S might be in the mix, but is it MORE logical that P?)? or is this a case for application of the other (devastatingly practical?) rubric I've been hearing a lot lately, “make the call you want to/were going to make and let the Director sort it out”? IOW, if I have to try to choose the action that is dictated by what a committee might eventually rule, it seems like I'm acting like judge and jury rather than a bridge player.
Aug. 23, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top