Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Steven Mcgrahan
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
yes,you can open 1N with the occasional singleton. i think i saw somewhere 1%. But you cant discuss it with your partner or you have an agreement and having an agreement to open 1N on singletons is not allowed. This of course is silly. Sounds like US Army Don't ask, Don't tell policy.
July 6, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
while this particular situation isn't covered. something like 1H-1N which may contain 4S is specifically not alertable. So you could be surprised when responder shows up with 4S but no alert, just the normal announcement if forcing.

but Paul Cronin has link to rulings where 1H-1N-2C-2H was ruled not alertable
June 22, 2014
Steven Mcgrahan edited this comment June 22, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
no way does opening 1N with a singleton twice with the same partner constitute an agreement, even if it happens twice in the same session. Hands where opening is right come up randomly it makes no difference if same session or 2 years apart
June 15, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
i abstained as didn't understand 4 explanation. if i have good clubs i would bid clubs not 2 or done an immediate 3 instead of double as a western cue-bid to look for 3N. bidding 4 going pass possible playing spot of 3N seems weird i would think was cue-bidding for spade slam
Feb. 6, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ask at your turn, your entitled to know meaning of 2N his hand will be hidden and while you may suspect a spade singleton you certainly are entitled to know if he promised one or is some other unusual meaning
July 18, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top