Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Will Engel
1 2 3 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
http://bridgeinchicago.com/data/bridgeinchicago.com/flyers/2019/FFReg.pdf

This was a sectional until a month or two ago, got expanded to 5 days.
Aug. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, but in IMP pairs the grand may be equivalent to two whole boards. In matchpoints, you can only get one zero at a time.
Aug. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From the ACBL Live homepage, when I click on NABC results, there are four different tournaments, the “normal” NABC, the youth, the collegiate, and online.
July 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I suspect that 5C may have happened, after a round and a half of Gerber.
July 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
https://www.acbl.org/clubs_page/special-events/summer-img/ has links to both video and written analysis, or the hand records.
July 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So in practice, partner had KJT65 AK732 5 95. Spades were 3-1, and hearts were 4-2, so we lost 14 in an otherwise very quiet match. My teammates couldn't believe I bid a grand in “this field,” which was probably fair, in retrospect.
June 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My mentee bid 2 over 1, making my decision rather easy.
Feb. 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why wouldn't you play the 14th round in the Mitchell to make it all-play-all?
Oct. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3C pass 4S at my table; would you really lead a trump? Maybe if I were having a better day…
July 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I lead a club, and duck if West leads a low spade. If Qx, I pay off.
May 27, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think playing 13 of the 22 opponents is fairer, and it appears to be a normal web movement to me… If you look at board 1 results sorted by table number, it becomes apparent that 1-11 played one set, 12-22 played the other, and board 1 started at table 21 also.
May 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Plausible? Correct?
April 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I talked myself out of the spade lead when partner couldn't double 2S, but it or the diamond were big winners. Dummy was AKJxxxx Kx J98 x opposite declarer's 9 AQJ8xx xx AQxx. Worse yet, the other table didn't open 1S, and 4S had no play.
Dec. 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You could also do the 3/4 Howell, which plays 9 rounds and has 5 stationary pairs, 4 of whom switch direction or turn the card.
Dec. 3, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And what is a recommended auction after North overcalls 1H instead?
Nov. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The top bracket of the K/O only had 6 teams, so they played a morning final to be eligible for the Barometer Pairs. Yes, a Monday Swiss :)
May 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If the bidder's hand matched his convention card but not partner's, I'd say the evidence points to misinformation, and rule in the defenders' favor.
Feb. 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Law 75 Mistaken Explanation or Mistaken Call

C. Mistaken Call
The partnership agreement is as explained — 2D is
strong and artificial; the mistake was in South’s call.
Here there is no infraction of law, since East–West
did receive an accurate description of the North–
South agreement; they have no claim to an accurate
description of the North–South hands. (Regardless
of damage, the Director shall allow the result to
stand; but the Director is to presume mistaken explanation,
rather than mistaken call, in the absence
of evidence to the contrary.) South must not correct
North’s explanation (or notify the Director) immediately,
and he has no responsibility to do so subsequently.

So no.
Feb. 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IIRC, it's described in the Encyclopedia of bridge, but it's something like multiply the {1st,2nd,3rd,4th,5th,6th} digit by {3,4,5,6,7,8} divide by 9, and subtract remainder from 11.
Dec. 27, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Was that by chance at a national, and clubs?
Sept. 16, 2016
1 2 3 4
.

Bottom Home Top