Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Zoran Zoric
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Standard” is: 1NT = 14-16. So: 1 - 1 // 1NT = 11-13.
June 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2. He may try to prevent any irregularity.
But (not clear to me): can dummy, when declarer says: “Play from table…”, to contradict: “The lead is from your hand!”?
June 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 sets trump with min/max. Partner is captain, and he can continue with Serious 3NT (slam try) or give cheapest control bid with mild slam interest. Or can simply bid game as sign-off.
April 19
Zoran Zoric edited this comment April 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Opener's five-card (may be 4-card) suit if any, or responder's five(four)-card suit if there is none” — I call it “second suit”. That suit is origin of tricks!

Trump Q-ask responses:
no;
yes but not the King in the “second suit” (identified by spiral scan);
yes plus the King, but not the Queen, in second suit;
yes plus the King and Queen in second suit, but not the King in next suit;
yes plus the King and Queen in second suit and the King in next suit.

I think that is enough responses (no more steps)!!!
March 17
Zoran Zoric edited this comment March 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
S claimed on opening lead, intending to find Q on E. But Q was on W. So: 4 +2.
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2NT is invitation or stronger, forcing per round. In principle: the strongest setting trump (no shortnes if strong, otherwise splinter). 4H can have wide HCP range (no slam interest), and can be preemptive.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
6H is easy to make. The only problem is to locate Q - but for overtrick.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To clarify: S bid 4NT, but TD had ruled that 4H is the final bid.
Dec. 4, 2018
Zoran Zoric edited this comment Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With regular partner I have rule (I also think, according to Kantar): after response “0/3 KC” - 5M is sign-off with zero; and Q-ask facing three. It is documented in my CC.
April 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I also use (and like it) 2/1 in Precision as GF. But think: this is not generally accepted (not standard). And for that subset, an extra agreement is required.
Feb. 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is ten including as honor or not?
Dec. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have the strict agreement (at level 1): the partner has to bid after XX. Pass is penalty. Maybe not optimal, but at least we know what we are doing (assuming that the partner has not forgotten the system).
BTW: this PASS must be alerted? Or not?
At level 2: we didn't discuss.
Oct. 30, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We (here at BW) agree that there was no “formal agreement” for this case. TD was focused on South. And wanted to see nonexistent paper with “agreement”. In this sense North is irrelevant.
Only the South was under investigation. Because West was declarer, and heard only S's information.
March 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Of course, he heard pd's explanation when all was over. Not during the bidding process. :)
For solution of the problem he was irrelevant player. He didn't communicate with West.
March 21, 2017
Zoran Zoric edited this comment March 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's how South (not North) explained own similar double 15 minutes earlier.
March 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A moment ago (on the other side of screen) North explained to East something like: I have points, but no both majors; that's why my Dbl is delayed. And East then bid 3NT.
March 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That particular situation was not discussed. But in different situations; after bidding two suits - Dbl shows the remaining two. Typical situations:
1 - (1) - Dbl (= minors).
(1) - P - (1) - Dbl (= + ).
(1) - P - (1) - Dbl (= majors).
Of course, that is not the same; but, at the moment when he was asked, South wanted to be attentive and gave explanation that was along the lines of their mutual access to the system.
Probably (in fact sure), now can be seen from coments of readers: proper answer would be “it's bridge; no agreement; …”. But, at that moment South did what he did.
It can be compared with selection a card, at the moment when you are surprised at the table with new situation, and have to choose quickly right move: play small or win with the ace. And sometimes you do right thing, sometimes wrong.
After a night of sleep - it's easy to make the right decision / give a proper explanation.
March 21, 2017
Zoran Zoric edited this comment March 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In both cases: South did give explanations to West.
There's one thing that can be pointed out. West complained cca 10 minutes after completion of the team competition. (Having compared the result with his team. By the way, at the other table the contract was the same, and there West went down 4 tricks!) During the game TD was not invited to the table.
March 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The truth is that it was NEVER discussed such sequence.
March 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
North started:
A, Q, J. West won 3rd club, came to table with and played low to K. North won with A, played 4th club, and to table. West played Q (2 small spades gave to clubs.) South put King on Q, West won, cashed J, and played a diamond.
In meantime he had seen 4 clubs, 2 hearts, 2 spades, and 2 diamonds (2nd diamond on unfinished trick.)
March 20, 2017
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top