Join Bridge Winners
Anamnesis

In his optimistic epistemology stage Plato claimed that a soul arriving on earth possesses all the knowledge and only the contact with impure earth makes it forget this knowledge termed anamnesis. To make the point, in one of Plato dialogues Socrates by questioning a simple slave makes him 'remember' the Pythagoras theorem. Perhaps not all bridge players arrive with the full knowledge of squeezes yet it seems that some simple rules of eliminating losing plays may help them execute those 'sophisticated' coups more often. Here's the hand and the bidding. W leads 9 and you smartly win the A.

North
AK102
A43
K42
764
South
J
KQJ1092
A3
AK108
W
N
E
S
1
3
4
P
4NT
P
5
P
5NT
P
7
P
P
P

Socrates. Nice grand! Do you have 13 tricks?

Theaetetus. 2s, 6s, 2s and 2s make only 12. What a pity I don't have 8 in dummy! 9 lead indicates shortness so if I had the eight, I could take a ruffing finesse against Q.

Socrates. I'm proud of your recognition; however, how do you go about your 13th trick?

Th. I know! If E holds both remaining  honors, I have all the communication to take a double finesse against him and score the grand.

Socrates. You make me proud again. What happens if W holds one of the  honors?

Th. Then I would apologize for my overbidding. 

Socrates. There is no need for that yet. What if W holds as he promised seven s?

Th. Then if I run plenty of s he perhaps may throw a wrong card.

Socrates. I am less proud of you now. W is a very good player, but what may he hold if you indeed cash all your tricks besides s and s? Note you also have to think a bit in what order to cash your tricks; for instance, you wouldn't like W to ruff your other honor, but I believe it will be just an easy exercise for a brilliant student of the game like you.

Th. If I cash all those tricks, the dummy will be left with one spade, three s and one . W would have to hold on to three s and two s

Socrates. What E, also a very good player who never throws a wrong card would have to hold in this ending? 

Th. E must hold at least one since otherwise my  in dummy would give me the 13th trick and three or four s.

Socrates. Do you see the light in the tunnel?

Th. That's all very well and probably useful but I still don't see how all that is better than taking two  finesses against E.

Socrates. What if you play your both honors ending in dummy? Consider that now we'll arrive at a three-card ending.

Th. W plays two s and nothing changes for me ... wait, what W may play? He may pitch one of his s and then either  or a . Eureka, if he becomes void in s, my spade in dummy is good and if he pitches a , E will have only two clubs like W and the club in my hand is good!

Socrates. Didn't I tell you that your soul had known everything about the double squeeze and it was enough just to awaken it for your mind to grasp the concept? Here's the full hand:

West
94
8
QJ109865
J92
North
AK102
A43
K42
764
East
Q87653
765
7
Q53
South
J
KQJ1092
A3
AK108
D

4 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top