Join Bridge Winners
If I open 1, can I rebid 1 with Four s after 1 overcall?

This is a question to which I am unsure of the answer because of my being new to the game of Bridge.

Suppose I am the dealer and I hold:

AJ87 862 K3 AQT6

With both sides playing 2/1, the bidding goes as follows:

Me: 1

LHO: Pass

Partner: 1

RHO: 1

Now the bidding comes back to me.

Of course, I can’t rebid 1NT because that would promise a stopper (or two) in ’s, which I don‘t have.

I can’t support partner‘s ’s, obviously.

I can‘t rebid my suit, because I don’t have six.

But can I rebid 1, or would that promise that I have five? It seems to me that partner would know I have only four ’s, because if I had five I would have opened the bidding with that suit.

And I am well aware that 1 would be a perfectly fine rebid absent the 1 overcall by my RHO.

That being said, I am not 100% certain whether or not the meaning of 1 changes after a 1 overcall and so wanted to put the question to you all.

Thank you for your help.

Yes, 1 is a perfectly fine rebid in this situation.
No, in this situation, 1 is telling partner that you hold 5 ’s and so you need to bid something else, double, or pass.

Sorry, to answer polls. Registered users can vote in polls, and can also browse other users' public votes! and participate in the discussion.

Getting results...
loading...
24 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top