Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ambrose Hol

Ambrose Hol
Ambrose Hol
  • 85
    Following
  • 9
    Followers
  • 22
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Feb. 26, 2013
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Favorite Conventions
One way reverse Drury, Weak 2D, support doubles
BBO Username
broze
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Chris Derrick's bidding problem: A2 Q8 A865 KQ765
I really dislike 2 with a flat hand and a 5 card suit with no fillers. 1N obviously has dangers but I like that I have a 5 card suit to escape to.
Stephen Merriman's bidding problem: 52 AK AKQ9 KT432
I would have opened 2N.
Freak Deal appeal
I agree with this advice for the most part, but then I'm certain that 90% of the bad bids I make are because I'm rushing in order to avoid constraining partner. Sometimes you do just need to think.
Really bad or not
Ditto. More poll options that force me to abstain
What does this 4NT bid mean?
Yes 4NT is unavailable as keycard. It just surprised me to see that there was any disagreement about the OP sdequence when it seems to me that quant is totally standard.
What does this 4NT bid mean?
To be honest, I'm surprised that it generated any discussion at all.
What is the name of this squeeze ?
That's a shame. I carefully read and (I thought) understood everything you wrote. We may have to agree to disagree on terminology as really it comes down to how you define "simple squeeze". My point was only really that this is the same as the normal "opposite threat" simple ...
What is the name of this squeeze ?
Michael, Jeff said that the OP squeeze is different to the squeeze with the extra card "because if the 10 were the 2, it wouldn't operate." In the ending with the extra card I post above, if the 10 were the 2 (or other small card), *again* the squeeze ...
What is the name of this squeeze ?
Michael, I think I must not have been clear. Of course I agree that if East did not have the 10 then the squeeze wouldn't operate. My point is that if we add a Heart card to the 3 card ending so that it is as follows: N: Immaterial ...
Ruling
I agree with Andy (a typically well-written answer from him) and Gonzalo. I can't see that West has any UI since he remembered that 2 was Majors before the alert.
.

Bottom Home Top