Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Art Korth

Art Korth
Art Korth
  • 2
    Following
  • 7
    Followers
  • 57
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 18, 2012
Last Seen
53 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Tax attorney in Atlantic City, NJ.  Playing bridge since 1972.  Inherited much of my sense of bridge humor from Dave Treadwell, so beware.

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Emerald Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
1NT or 1C
The idea that this hand is outside of the range of a 1NT opening is just wrong for two reasons. First, it is important to convey as much information as quickly as possible. Even if this hand is slightly heavy for a 15-17 1NT opening, it gets the message across ...
Online Bridge Ruling: Failure to Alert and Wild Bids
Actually, I can remember an instance of a procedural penalty being imposed in live play. In a regional swiss match about 6 months ago, against some prominent players, my partnership was assessed a 1 VP penalty for an improperly disclosed defense against the opponents' strong club opening. We had recently ...
Online Bridge Ruling: Failure to Alert and Wild Bids
Procedural penalties exist almost exclusively on Bridgewinners - not in the real world. I cannot remember the last time I saw or heard of a PP imposed in actual play.
Online Bridge Ruling: Failure to Alert and Wild Bids
If East thought he was making a DONT double, then he should self-alert. Having said that, I do not see how NS were damaged. Clearly, neither E nor W had any UI. So they can bid what they want to bid. They are allowed to get lucky. Are you suggesting ...
Played the wrong board?
John: There was no irregularity. The only thing that happened was that a board was played one segment too early. That should not trigger any of the adjustments that you refer to. A board that is supposed to be played (eventually) was played. A result was obtained on the board ...
Played the wrong board?
The board was played to a valid result. The result should stand. The board had to be played in any event, so I can't think of any reason why the result should not stand.
ATB missed slam
"Is east good enough for a 3♠ bid?" I don't know. But the hand that East held certainly justifies a 3 bid.
Auction Whacking
This auction occurred this past Saturday morning at a one-session Sectional Open Pairs. The side that bid to 7 was not a very experienced pair. I commented at the time that I believed that this was the first and last recorded instance of this auction: All vul 3 ...
A Bridge Problem (of Sorts)
The problem says "doubling." Whether this includes "redoubles" is a matter of semantics. I would answer the question both ways - with and without redoubles. This question has been answered in many places. I just can't put my finger on one at this time.
Why is it worth taking part in an appeal committee?
See Case 10. http://web2.acbl.org/casebooks/Philadelphia_Spr96.pdf
.

Bottom Home Top