Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Avon Wilsmore

Avon Wilsmore
Avon Wilsmore
  • 3
    Following
  • 109
    Followers
  • 176
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 5, 2011
Last Seen
37 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
Australia

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
A X of 3NT in 1981...
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Double Bay Bridge Centre
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
And, if you are looking at 1959: bd 40 - Avarelli's successful 2 bd 115 - Avarelli's pass over 2, leaving matters to the boss bd 128 - Avarelli's lead and continuation. There is no reason GB can't be 1-4-6-2 or 1-3-6-3. Danny Kleinman: [i]To give ...
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
Typo on my part... repaired. 151 is the board I want to point out. (4 by GB, down 2). Note: - The WC Handbook lists bd 151 as the one I mention. I see no reason to suppose this is incorrect. - The Bridgetoernooi site has the same board, but no ...
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
There are curious anomalies here and there... a disastrous 6 by Chiaradia-D'Alelio in 1958, a silly slam by Pabis-Ticci-D'Alelio in (I think; I am away from my books ATM) 1967, a dreadful opening lead by Chiaradia in 1960. What can we say? People make mistakes, signals or ...
Another Look at Walter Avarelli
Ron was talking about representing Italy in world championships... Italy won 10 consecutive Bowls and three consecutive Olympiads.
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
Extracts... The New York Times, 3 August 1958: [i]On the first day, an American referee noticed that one of the Italian players held his cards high during some hands and low during others. There seemed to be a pattern, it was said —high for good hands, low for poor ...
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
Quite so... thanks for clarifying.
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
Michael: Perhaps you mean, 5, 4... Damo: [i]What board number is this hand? ♠ AQJ743 ♥ A ♦ AK10 ♣ Q87 [/1] 1966/82 [i/]Avarelli's hand on board 21, 1966 is ♠JT73 ♥8 ♦764 ♣T8754 you dispute this too?[/i] I have never disputed this and and baffled as ...
Another Look at Walter Avarelli
You may be right, but the funny thing is that, as shown in the article, Avarelli made an even worse play in handling the club suit in 1NT. And your opinion of Avarelli's pass of 3X is what? Ron Von der Porten: [i]But the world of the ...
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
In fact, 2M is about 12-16. What you have read is not accurate. From the book: [i]"Roman two-bids are interesting. All two-bids fill canapé-caused systemic gaps: Two of a minor shows any 4-4-4-1 or 5-4-4-0 while two of a major shows that major and secondary clubs. There is no ...
The Talk That Never Was: The Blue Team Rule
What was the meaning of GB's 2? "Whatever the system was" is not going to help you understand the deal.
.

Bottom Home Top