Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Barry Margolin

Barry Margolin
Barry Margolin
  • 1
    Following
  • 16
    Followers
  • 1
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 28, 2010
Last Seen
23 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
2nd place 2000 GNT Flight C
Member of Bridge Club(s)
MIT/DL
BBO Username
barmar
ACBL Ranking
Sapphire Life Master
James Jones & Barry Margolin
Standard American (2/1 forces to 2NT)
Copy to my cards View/Print
Nathan Glasser & Barry Margolin
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Barry Margolin Individual
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Kathy Gilman & Barry Margolin
2/1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Elizabeth Gompels & Barry Margolin
2/1 Game Forcing
Copy to my cards View/Print
Robin Hillyard & Barry Margolin
2/1 Game Forcing
Copy to my cards View/Print
Bob Bertoni & Barry Margolin
2/1 Game Force
Copy to my cards View/Print
Rain Lan and Barry Margolin
2/1
Copy to my cards View/Print
BBO GIB 2/1
2/1 Game Forcing
Copy to my cards View/Print
Jim Overly & Barry Margolin
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Farley Mawyer & Barry Margolin
2/1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Is 4NT ever quantitative after a suit fit is found ?
I generally interpret the context of questions like this as "You're playing with a pickup partner, you've made some general agreements like 2/1 and RKCB, what can you assume?"
Deceiving question by declarer
Maybe he plays in your club, so that's a waste of time (unless he's playing against you, of course). :)
Deceiving question by declarer
There shouldn't be any dilemma there. A from AK doesn't mean that A shows the K. It means that if they have AK, they lead the A rather than K. Just like "4th best leads" doesn't mean that leading low shows a 4+ card suit. It means ...
Deceiving question by declarer
You're probably right about A from AK -- it's become extremely popular, so I can understand why players may think it's standard. I only mention that we play that if partner actually has led an A or K. Otherwise I think I usually say "standard", and not feel ...
Deceiving question by declarer
Anyway, if they mistakenly tell you "standard", and it causes you to misplay, you should be able to get an adjustment from the TD. The question "leads and carding" is the most proper form. Of course, you could also just ask to see their CC. I know that Ed will ...
Deceiving question by declarer
I don't think I've ever encountered someone who plays nonstandard honor leads and doesn't know it. People who play Journalist or Rusinow leads know that these are nonstandard. After all, when they play against people who actually do play standard leads (the vast majority), they must have ...
How do you act and alert after partner's missbid?
I mentioned that in my post on July 3, although I didn't quote it. I just pointed out that it's interesting that you can consult their CC but not ask questions.
Club Ruling
I think the point of calling the TD immediately when there's a dispute over whether there was a BIT is so that everything will still be fresh in everyone's mind. Ed, what kind of guidance do some RAs provide?
Club Ruling
In the case of UI, the Laws don't require you to call the director immediately. If the players agree that UI was transmitted that could possibly affect the result, you "reserve your right" to call the director when play ends. Then at the end of play, if you think ...
Club Ruling
Did the director really roll the auction back? There's nothing in the Laws that permits changing the auction while it's in progress because of UI. The director should have allowed the auction and play to continue. Then if they rule that the bid was a violation of Law ...
.

Bottom Home Top