Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Dan Cardnell

Dan Cardnell
Dan Cardnell
  • 0
    Following
  • 6
    Followers
  • 0
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 29, 2013
Last Seen
3 seconds ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
MI (?) Ruling
If this makes a difference I'm not convinced that it will always make a difference, or that the subsequent auction would always be the same. I do adjust here, but I weight the score
Ruling in Montreal
Why is "why" relevant? If the agreement is legal and doesn't need pre-disclosure then there is no infraction. If it is legal and needs pre-disclosure (or greater disclosure at the table), then the pair is told and this is dealt with as a MI case. If it is illegal ...
Ruling in Montreal
16B1B states: "A logical alternative is an action that a significant proportion of the class of players in question, using the methods of the partnership, would seriously consider, and some might select. " Whilst this doesn't specifically mention polling, it's difficult to see how this can be judged without ...
I am mad as hell and I am not going to take it anymore
I agree you cannot rule 4 when 6 makes and 6 down when when it doesn't. What you can do is decide that both immediate bids of 4 and 6 are suggested over another call (such as 2 or 3). You can ...
Waking up to your misbid on your own, before partner's alert
You are only required to correct misexplanations according to your system, so in this case you do not need to correct. You are bound by UI rules in what you bid, but not in what you explain to your opponents, so you are required to explain (and correct any misexplinations ...
Director, Please
If this needs an alert (which seems likely if this is a possible hand, according to the regulation you posted) then this would be dealt with the laws on misinformation which is currently law 21 "LAW 21 - MISINFORMATION A. Call or Play Based on Player’s Own Misunderstanding No rectification ...
Asking Laws questions during the game
I'd suggest that idle curiosity might also fall under 74B4 "prolonging play unnecessarily (as in playing on although he knows that all the tricks are surely his) for the purpose of disconcerting an opponent. " or 74B2 "making gratuitous comments during the auction and play. " I feel that players should ...
How would you rule?
The EBU and WBF have some clarifications/interpretations that I think relate here and argue against the idea that the declarer must still lose the diamond queen when they could throw it over lsoers. The EBu white book states: "8.70.8 Law 70E: Unstated line of play in claim ...
Ethics and legality
IF anyone is interested in where the specific case law David references is listed, it is in the EBU White book: "8.73.1 Hesitating with two small cards Pausing to consider whether to signal is an infraction, under Law 73D1. The player has failed to be ‘particularly careful in ...
Clarification of Tom Kniest Hand
I don't find that mid boggling. The directors don't have the luxury of players giving them distinct subsets of times, so if they are taking the estimates into consideration, there has to be a line, and that line will make it such that there will be some overlapping ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top