Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Dan Putnam

Dan Putnam
Dan Putnam
  • 2
    Following
  • 0
    Followers
  • 0
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 6, 2017
Last Seen
34 minutes ago
Member Type
bridge player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
To bid or not to bid?
Clearly I'm missing something. 3x-1 gives E/W more than 3+4.I don't see any reason to expect N/S to have more than 8 hearts or 20 HCP. Is the assumption that opponents will seldom double 3 or that it will make? The ...
Too stringent with the announcements/alerts?
I live in John's world.
Too stringent with the announcements/alerts?
I would applaud any legal effort to make the game more comfortable for newer players. My suggestion would be to require the strong bidders to offer alerts on precision related standard bids such as those you list, but only to people who would like them. After a few weeks ...
Fouled board penalty
If one player had 14 cards, someone else must have had 12. Were those players both partners? Otherwise, how did director assign blame? Did someone remember who shuffled and dealt that hand? Since they played most of the hand before realizing the issue, I would certainly consider not letting them ...
Goulash problem
Is the argument here that partner, having taken the first trick, might get greedy and not cash his A?
Things happen
How would anyone have guessed that her wave of the hand was asking for a bidding card? Did she have vocal issues? At the point she protested, I would have ruled that three people thought she passed and her partner led before she objected. The contract is 4.
Is doubling after this (slight) pause Justified?
The poll asks what the correct ruling should be. That means 60% (65% now) either do not think there is UI or don't think pass would be considered an LA by many peers. If the poll were taken to assist a director in applying the laws, it should not ...
Is doubling after this (slight) pause Justified?
How many people wouldn't pause "slightly" after East passes and then pulls the 5X? Assuming all agree to the word "slightly", I am not buying that it demonstrably suggests anything but a desire to make sense of East's action. I'd also be curious if I'm ...
After 2!h double negative to 2!c
2-2 forces both partners to game. After 2-2, opener may pass at any point. Responder can pass 2NT. Otherwise, responder must bid until a natural suit has been bid twice.
Curtis Cheek Wins 2019 Lazard Sportsmanship Award
I had the good luck to play against Curtis and Huub Bertens a few years ago when I was not yet life master. I didn't know who they were, but when I asked who their captain was, someone from the next table said, "Ahab." I dutifully wrote it down ...
No followers yet
.

Bottom Home Top