Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for David Burn

David Burn
David Burn
  • 1
    Following
  • 182
    Followers
  • 67
    Posts
  • 1
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 28, 2010
Last Seen
59 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

A bookful blockhead, ignorantly read

With loads of learned lumber in his head,

Fixed like a plant on his peculiar spot

To draw nutrition, propagate, and rot.

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Member of Bridge Club(s)
TGRs Young Chelsea
BBO Username
dburn
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Coast Conduct
I wrote [url=https://bridgewinners.com/article/view/away-from-tannery-row/]an article[/url] a while back. You have the North hand and you respond the obvious 1NT to 1. Maybe your partnership plays Gazzilli, maybe it doesn't, I don't know. But your partner is about to rebid something ...
“No True Expert Pair Plays [Insert Convention or Treatment Here]...”
Howard Cohen, a legend of the game in Britain though perhaps not well known in the colonies, died recently. We played a tournament in Deauville together, and on the first board with our side vulnerable against not I had Kxx Kxx Kx xxxxx. He opened 2 and I bid ...
Coast Conduct
The mere creation of UI may be an infraction, since Law 73D says: It is desirable, though not always required, for players to maintain steady tempo and unvarying manner. However, players should be particularly careful when variations may work to the benefit of their side. It is a commonly held ...
“No True Expert Pair Plays [Insert Convention or Treatment Here]...”
I play 2-2NT as natural, and consider it pretty much obvious to do so in any but a well-practised partnership. The floundering around that goes on when a balanced nine count bids like a balanced nought count for three rounds and then tries to catch up is invariably pitiful ...
“No True Expert Pair Plays [Insert Convention or Treatment Here]...”
It is fairly common - indeed, it might be more common than anything else - to play that after (say) 1-1-2, advancer's double shows a raise to 2. The cool school now play that after (say) 1-1, double shows hearts - that is, a hand that ...
Coast Conduct
I suppose a post saying "I did something likely to annoy my opponents and they were annoyed" wouldn't be much of a story.
Is this call alertable?
Bryan, you can't argue both ways. If the obvious and simple meaning of a pass of one spade doubled is "I want to play in one spade doubled", then the obvious and simple meaning of a pass of one spade redoubled is "I want to defend one spade redoubled".
Coast Conduct
"But what brought it up?" Norman, I think, was attempting to suggest that "X or get off the pot" was a sentiment pithier (yes, yes, I know) than any Wordsworth could have expressed. In which Norman was, as far as one can judge from Wordsworth's published works, entirely correct ...
Coast Conduct
"Did he write a poem, of which I was previously unaware, about sh&# hitting the pot, or somesuch?" No, that was Auden (search for [i]The Geography of the House[/i]). Wordsworth, although he wrote an awful lot [i]of[/i] cr*p, didn't as far as I recall ...
Is this call alertable?
"your approach also means that the opponents need to ask about every alerted action" Of course. Now, if you just announced everything instead of alerting, there wouldn't be a problem.
.

Bottom Home Top