Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for David Cole

David Cole
David Cole
  • 13
    Following
  • 12
    Followers
  • 7
    Posts
  • 5
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 15, 2011
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Still an Englishman although I have lived in Germany for 30 years ...

Play less than I would like to.

Country
Germany

Bridge Information

BBO Username
davidcole
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
You be the judge!
Pass is not a LA. I think 5 could be bid. A question is whether partner would bid 6 over this.
Nikolas Bausback's bidding problem: A84 KJ95 --- QT7652
I would have bid 5 not 4. Partner has a hand too strong to overcall 1 - I need KQxxxx, Ax, xx, AKx for 7
World Bridge Series Team Winners
I think the performance of Michal Klukowski is incredible - the man is a junior and has just won his fourth world championship. His bridge was a pleasure to watch !
He is Gambling
How about bidding 3 instead of 3. If opps were going to bid, it will help partner decide. If they were not it will only be bad if you get too high which seems unlikely with this playing strength. Note that 5 makes
#saynotocheats
Let us be quite clear: 1) The doctors won their case and have a right to play. 2) If the DBV disbands and reforms, as long as it has a monopoly on organising bridge in Germany, it will not be possible to refuse participation to anyone (Kartellrecht). 3) Changing the ...
#saynotocheats
Tom. It is not the fault of the DBV. They have to accept the ruling of the court.
#saynotocheats
The president of the DBV requested that we should continue to play in events even if Wladow/Elinescu take part. They unfortunately have a legal right to play, and if everyone refused to play, the DBV would just have to stop holding events. So it is not an easy call ...
Bad Lead or Sleeping Defender or Both?
On lead the first question is whether an active or passive lead is required. As I have no stops in the red suits, I would think active and lead a club. But bad lead is too strong.
Find that Ace
Kit - you criticise Easts pass of 3NT, even though he scored +600. Double would have led to 4 and not such a large plus score. Agreed - it could have gone wrong, but as South is clearly taking a risk, bidding on does not seem to be mandatory.
Does a BIT always imply UI
The answer to the question is no. BIT means partner has something to think about - if he makes a very strange bid then there is no UI. In this case you were clearly thinking about bidding or doubling, so there was UI. I would bid 4NT as West - whether pass ...
.

Bottom Home Top