Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Dominic Cooke

Dominic Cooke
Dominic Cooke
  • 1
    Following
  • 3
    Followers
  • 43
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 24, 2018
Last Seen
Aug. 15
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Often delusional about how good I am at this game, but I make enough wild errors to puncture my inflated ego on a regular basis.

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Making 6HX-6 for -1400 at a Year End Congress. My partner was declaring, but it was very much me who got us there.
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Reading Bridge Club
BBO Username
dozydom
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
How to bid a strong hand?
For me, playing with an unfamiliar partner, if I see a hand that looks kind of balanced and strong, I guess I'll treat it as strong and balanced. Specifically, too strong for a 2NT open here. I'm not really keen on opening a club? I don't like ...
Dominic Cooke's bidding problem: AKJ84 K653 Q3 95
I guess I should have asked about the second round of bidding, honestly.
Dominic Cooke's bidding problem: AKJ84 K653 Q3 95
I'm pretty sure it's something pretty standard, like a good WNT with a heart stop.
Doubling Rhythm
I'm a very greedy player - I'd double 3NT and then 4C. Then after 4H I'd think to myself "oh, I've been greedy and been viciously punished", and that message would stay with me until the next time the situation comes up.
Hesitation Blackwood
UI does not force you to take crazy actions, right? If your partner goes for blackwood and you have 4 KC, you should be in slam. Pass is just not a logical alternative, unless I'm going absolutely crazy. Are you going to be rolling back the sequence 1NT - (hesitation ...
Is this a good matchpoint slam?
Sounds like politics to me, Phil. Well, maybe not Williamson.
Is this a good matchpoint slam?
It looks like less than 50%, right? So... nope. I don't know what the best game is - if it's 4, then I'm not getting there.
One board that cost us the Tournament
Seems plausible if N opens something, at least.
Should this bid be alerted?
No agreement, but could be one or more artificial meanings? Isn't that alertable?
How do you rule on this sitiuation
Roger, I think it's pretty clear from the article that S was informed that the agreement might be that it shows s, or it might be that it shows s. Amnon, I don't really understand where you got the idea of a / multi from; there is ...
.

Bottom Home Top