Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ellis Feigenbaum

Ellis Feigenbaum
Ellis Feigenbaum
  • 6
    Following
  • 26
    Followers
  • 54
    Posts
  • 4
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Feb. 21, 2011
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
If I dont say meeting my wife, it might have to change.
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Laguna Woods , Barrington, and quite a few others.
Favorite Tournaments
Bermuda, Eilat all Nationals
Favorite Conventions
4cl keycard over weak 2 openers. ( Comes twice a month but its always spectacular)
BBO Username
Ellis10
ACBL Ranking
Emerald Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
A curiosity
@ Barry I trump your curiosities. In tonight's team game we played a hand which was AKJ97653 Q83 4 K Opposite - AKJ97652 3 9876 Out of interest 4 fails on a bad trump split 4 makes 5. That's 2 8 card majors in ...
Comedy of errors: how do you straighten it out?
@ John, I still think its pretty bad, but I understand why people disagree with me. My initial thoughts on the matter as a player is west is unlikely to double 3 directly, and that may well influence my thinking as a director. Partner is a passed hand, they may ...
Was this ruling correct?
@David, If you and I were playing, it would be forcing and my guess is it would be on the card or we would have at some point discussed a meta agreement of what was forcing over a WJS. But as a director and as a player I have heard ...
Comedy of errors: how do you straighten it out?
It may well be unfair , and yes your hypothetical situation arises quite often. But I still fell asking then taking no action, if you have asked about none of the other bids, creates UI.
A curiosity
Ask Ghestem about bidding 3 over 1, I seem to remember it ended up rather badly for them. Isn't it a bugger when you cant remember the convention you invented.
Was this ruling correct?
I voted other, much info needed to make a reasonable decision. What did the director hear away from the table? What methods do E/W have to get to game? Did a player poll think getting to 4sp was even likely? Just because you can make a contract does not ...
Comedy of errors: how do you straighten it out?
@ Michael, the second sentence clarifies, or at least I thought it did. I find the problem is yes your defined possibility exists, but asking in that position, and then failing to act clearly shows an interest in that bid, which creates UI for partner. It might even create the unwanted ...
Comedy of errors: how do you straighten it out?
Lets see list who was worse and adjudicate or each infraction separately. 1. Oddly enough I think the director got not naming the convention correct, however as we assume opps know what Smolen is, they also may assume that this is a 4 spade 5 heart hand before the opening ...
Ruling on opening 1NT with small singleton (ACBL)
So we have an illegal 1NT, followed by an illegal use of the bidding box, followed by illegal use of UI, by a partnership that had done the same thing the day before, followed by a director that threw the book at the OS but probably skewed the results by ...
Ruling on opening 1NT with small singleton (ACBL)
I did that in the worlds in Philadelphia, playing with Omar, only pair in the room to play 3nt, everyone else was in 6d-1. Sometimes Karma works in your favor.
.

Bottom Home Top