Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Gary Ansok

Gary Ansok
Gary Ansok
  • 3
    Following
  • 2
    Followers
  • 10
    Posts
  • 5
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 9, 2012
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Been playing on and off for 30 years, but still working, so limited to once or twice a week at the local clubs, plus a couple of regional/NABC tournaments each year.  Fairly good player (Power Rating around 56), but not an expert.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
2nd in Mini-Spingold II (0-1500), 2014
Favorite Tournaments
All-Western (Santa Clara, CA); SoCal Bridge Week (Long Beach, CA)
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Uncomfortable Satisfaction
My first thought on seeing the hand, even before reading the second page, was that "anyone can miscount their hand, just like anyone can misclick." A single hand shouldn't be taken to prove anything. At most, it might lead someone to say "keep an eye on this guy for ...
Spring 1995 Phoenix NABC Appeals Decisions Casebook
Thanks again for putting these up, Kevin. I did notice a couple of minor typos: Case 14 - East is missing the "0" for his 10. Case 17 - The "Director's Ruling" box doesn't match the text. Case 22 - The "Director's Ruling" box has the wrong contract.
1993 Seattle Fall NABC Appeals Committee Decisions now available online
two of which are the 3
1993 Washington D.C. Summer NABC Appeals Committee Decisions now available online
And another in Case 35 - South's bid was 3, not 1. Thanks for putting these up, Keith!
1993 Washington D.C. Summer NABC Appeals Committee Decisions now available online
Typo - in Case 3, South's first bid should apparently be 2 (not 1).
1993 Kansas City Spring NABC Appeals Committee Decisions now available online
There's a similar issue with Case 18 -- West appears to have doubled East's 2 bit (and E/W were penalized for not alerting it). Edit: this has been corrected, see Keith's comment below
Draft ACBL Alert Procedure - Request for Comments
So is the distinction being made for the auction 1-(1)-X that if the double (usually) shows exactly 4 spades, it is a normal negative double (no alert or announcement), but if the double is showing 4 *or more* spades, then it should be announced? If so ...
Draft ACBL Alert Procedure - Request for Comments
For negative doubles, I think the idea that 1-(1)-X will require an Announcement of "Spades" (specifically called out in the examples), but 1-(1)-X will not need any Alert or Announcement (unless I missed something), is going to be confusing to a great ...
Poll: Did you find this site’s April Fool’s joke funny?
I agree that using "ACBL Official" makes it look like it was ACBL's joke (or at least that they agreed to the use of that account). A name like "ACBL Unofficial" might slip by at first, while being clear on close exam that it's not real.
An Amusing Matchpoint Result from Monaco
Was just imagining being the pair who was in 3NT... "We were in 3NT making 12 tricks, zero matchpoints." "Everyone else was in slam, I suppose?" "No, in fact we were only one of two pairs to take 12 tricks."
.

Bottom Home Top