Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for James Lawrence

James Lawrence
James Lawrence
  • 0
    Following
  • 3
    Followers
  • 7
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Sept. 29, 2011
Last Seen
5 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Club player and EBU tournament director.

"minus1100" on BBO, a name I occasionally live up to!

In real life, I am a professional data scientist.

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Bridge Accomplishments
5HX-9 NV. Maybe that isn't an accomplishment...
BBO Username
minus1100
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Is minus 2800 a fair ruling?
I think I'm with Ed --- working out what the agreement is comes under determining the facts, which is just a balance-of-probabilities ruling: LAW 85 - RULINGS ON DISPUTED FACTS When the Director is called upon to rule on a point of law or regulation in which the facts are not ...
Is minus 2800 a fair ruling?
It's well established that the TD should presume mistaken explanation rather than mistaken bid unless there is evidence otherwise. Does it follow that playing with screens, if there are two conflicting explanations and it is unclear which is the agreement, that the TD should assume whichever leads to the ...
A new slam bidding convention to eliminate UI allegations
I don't think you need to defend against those, Bobby won't fall for those sorts of shenanigans...
What is the correct TD decision and why?
If your system is so complicated that it will take you 30–60 seconds to make any call then if you take that long, no break in tempo has occurred and there is no UI. However, you can expect *lots* of time penalties...
What is the correct TD decision and why?
I agree that we can't assume it generalises, but I don't think we can assume it doesn't either (then again several of the people who wrote the white book lurk about here, perhaps they will tell us). I think the general principle of one partner asking a ...
Coffee housing
A claim is supposed, at least in theory and according to the letter of the law, to state how many tricks claimer is taking. Since it depends on the lie of the spade suit which claimer doesn't yet know, arguably it wouldn't be a claim. I'm not ...
What is the correct TD decision and why?
Barry, are you asserting that the only peers (in the bridge-legal sense of the word) of the player at the table are the blue team? I have no idea who it was but at a matchpoint event without screens that is likely to be rather too generous.
What is the correct TD decision and why?
It might be worth noting that there is specific guidance in this/similar situations — from the EBU admittedly so not applicable worldwide — stating that bidding 6 after a slow 5-level sign-off would only be left alone by the TD if responder has a hand "on which slam cannot fail". That ...
What is the correct TD decision and why?
East declined to bid 5 over 4, which might suggest they are less likely to own the K?
What is the correct TD decision and why?
The correct thing for the TD to do is not to arbitrarily pick one of these options but to take a poll of peers of the player in question and decide whether (a) there are other logical alternatives to 6, (b) if any of them are suggested by the ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top