Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Diamond

John Diamond
John Diamond
  • 28
    Following
  • 325
    Followers
  • 8
    Posts
  • 83
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 26, 2011
Last Seen
now
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I am a former trader and computer programmer.  I live in Florida with my wife and my two kids.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
winning the Spingold 4-handed, and winning the Rosenblum
Bridge Accomplishments
won the Rosenblum (2010), the Spingold (2010, 2017), and the World Junior Championship (1991). 2nd place in the Reisinger (2016), and the Vanderbilt (2009, 2012, 2015). Several wins in national swiss and pair events. WBF World Grand Master
Regular Bridge Partners
Brian Platnick
BBO Username
dimebags
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Shawn Drenning's bidding problem: A5 K732 8 K97653
If you play this convention, you need to discuss ahead of time how to unwind your suits. Make sure you also discuss how to unwind your suits if opener bids 3 in front of you. The trend among American experts is to play that 2NT on this auction is ...
Wayne Burrows's bidding problem: QT QT654 KJ96 T6
I would not have overcalled 1. Maybe that should be a bidding problem.
Double Confusion
Yes
NABC Appeal
7. Once partner asks directly for the queen and I say yes, we are forced to slam. Partner bidding anything other than 6 (or 6nt) shows all of the keycards. Since I can count 12 tricks and there are many chances for 13, I would commit the hand ...
What is this Double
Thrump. Bid 3NT if you have a stopper.
David Libchaber's bidding problem: T63 7 KT75 KQJ94
We play that 3 shows the minors (at least 5-4 either way) over a precision 1.
Moss and Demuy Win LM Pairs
Just for the record, I think it was 100% clear that Bobby should win the Blue Ribbon ruling (and I was one of the people the directors polled).
Moss and Demuy Win LM Pairs
Bobby, wouldn’t you get a ruling if you were damaged on a board and it cost you an event?
Trick 2 Problem?
A Diamond return is correct. Declarer held xx QJ8xxx T9xx T You need to prevent declarer from scoring two ruffs early. To do this, you need to knock out one of dummy's entries before declarer is void in a black suit. If declarer scores two ruffs early, he cannot ...
Awful Contract
I think so. Double says that you are willing to hear partner bid. If you double and partner has a 5-card Major, he will certainly bid it unless he is loaded in Diamonds.
.

Bottom Home Top