Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for John Gillespie

John Gillespie
John Gillespie
  • 1
    Following
  • 7
    Followers
  • 5
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 30, 2013
Last Seen
July 23
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
Canada

Bridge Information

BBO Username
ggwhiz
ACBL Ranking
Emerald Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Tournament Site Horror Stories
I heard a lot of stories from the tennis bubble tourney. The deflation was preceded by a bomb like BANG and there was only a very small airlock for an exit. One player was seen leaping over tables while his wife trundled behind yelling "wait for me" and another (a ...
Tournament Site Horror Stories
We once had our Regional in the lower level of an arena with a heavy metal concert booked directly above us.
What's the ethical thing to do when partner misreviews auction?
It is quite possible that if your next bid is say, 3nt that your partner may go for the grand as long as you do nothing to wake them up and the opponents deserve that shot. Is this ACBL? If so you would have announced the 1nt bid as 11-14 ...
Is doubling after this (slight) pause Justified?
If (big if) a bit is established north is looking at 2+ defensive tricks with an exclamation point on the plus. On this vul does anyone actually look at the north hand in pass out seat and think their partner was considering a double?
Is doubling after this (slight) pause Justified?
A club lead, a stray black Queen(10?) in south or a declarer misguess even in crossing to hand is enough to beat this. Given the accelerated high level of the auction it is going to take a lot more than a "slight" hesitation to take me off the double.
Why a balancing 1NT should be any different from direct NT overcall?
You also have the advantage of knowing where most of the missing high cards are which is often worth a trick in the play of the hand. Should the opponents bid on partners defence will also be more effective at least by mid-hand than if you had passed or even ...
Lanzarotti Readmitted and the ACBL?
I think "I don't have enough information" (why not?) = No. At least until further notice.
Missing alert
I'm in the acbl where 2 is not alertable (today? yesterday? tomorrow?) I think. If it was alertable wherever this occurred I object strongly (yet again) to the notion that the non-offenders have to protect themselves by asking if competent opponents have bothered to follow THE %%#@!%& RULES! Often ...
Best defence to a possibly-short 1C?
Against a strong club we overcall naturally and often on a lead directing 4-card suit aiming at first to set the defence. Direct overcalls tend strongly to deny a decent opening hand as we pass with those unless very shapely where dbl = majors and 1nt = minors doesn't fit. After ...
New Event - Double Elimination KO - Toronto Regional
Gotta run it at least twice (or more) to see if it catches on. The optics of collecting 3 sessions of entries for 2 sessions of hands played is particularly bad.
.

Bottom Home Top