Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Matt Smith

Matt Smith
Matt Smith
  • 0
    Following
  • 35
    Followers
  • 1
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 31, 2012
Last Seen
11 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Director
Country
Canada

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Claim Ruling
It may be a terrible ruling under Law 70, but as Henrik correctly points out below that law no longer applies after agreement is established. You have to apply Law 69, and its standards are very much different from those in 70. Most of you are judging this case by ...
Convention Cards in NABC+ events
Law 40B2(c)(iv)
Systems Down in ACBL-Land?
Wrong end of the rainbow.
Max Bavin 1954-2019
Max was our gold standard as a tournament director. We all looked up to him and admired his keen ability to get to the heart of a ruling unerringly. He had a razor wit in rare combination with a gentle and kind nature. The directing community feels his loss immensely.
David Caplan (1964-2019) - Our Story
Fred, what a wonderful tribute. Until quite recently, I knew David (and Mark) only as names from Canadian junior teams many years ago. I did encounter them at the Spingold in Toronto in 2017 (where they took out the #4 seed), and got to know them more as they cut ...
Throw Anything
Since it is in the laws, and apparently intended to be there, then maybe its intention is to address situations you find inconceivable but others do not.
Throw Anything
The first sentence of 46B says: "In the case of an incomplete or invalid designation, the following restrictions apply (except when declarer's different intention is incontrovertible)". That applies to B1 through B5. Assuming the parenthetical part was written with intent, I suggest that there must be circumstances where it ...
An Embarrassing Unintended Pass
See 25A2.
Why do I need a convention card?
I almost never comment on these things, but since it is probably obvious to many that I am the "senior" director mentioned in this thread I will offer a few comments to clarify. I know it is great fun to second-guess director decisions and rulings, but it is dangerous to ...
Correct ruling on a claim?
Ray, when the claimer says "What? You're really going to make me try to run clubs when the jack doesn't come down?", 70D1 allows the director to consider whether not noticing its absence to date would be beyond merely careless or inferior.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top