Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Matthew Brown

Matthew Brown
Matthew Brown
  • 2
    Following
  • 16
    Followers
  • 14
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 17, 2015
Last Seen
Feb. 19
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

23 years old.

Chemical Engineering drop-out, finished a degree in Computer Science.

New Zealand Open team 2016-2019.

Country
New Zealand

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Beating Netherlands in the QF of the Bermuda Bowl 2017
Bridge Accomplishments
4th Bermuda Bowl in France 2017, 5= World Bridge Games in Poland 2016, Gold Coast Open Pairs 2018, Canberra NOT 2018-19
Regular Bridge Partners
Michael Whibley, Andi Boughey
Favorite Tournaments
Bermuda Bowl
Favorite Conventions
So much suit preference
BBO Username
Matthewb
ACBL Ranking
None
No Alert
For what it’s worth, North lead to trick 1 and West then enquired about 3S and was told weak. It was at this point before any further play that East called the director and said they would have bid 4S. p.s. if East asks about 3S and is ...
Ethics, gamesmanship and the law
In a recent pairs tournament my opponent, with AQJxxx opposite 98 and worried about entries (when he need not have been) ran the 9 and lost to my partners Txx. After this cold game had gone down dummy started absolutely berating his partner asking why he had taken such a ...
ERICHSEN Wins Jacoby Swiss
Leibo is back!!! Congrats guys.
More Memphis Mishappenings
Jeff, I apologise for incorrectly stating you changed stories - this is what was told to me by my teammates. I want to emphasise that I’m not trying to vilify you or complain about the ruling (hence leaving you anonymous) - I just wanted a discussion about the laws regarding these ...
More Memphis Mishappenings
N attempted to Kokish and was alerted to the mishappenings by partner first not alerting 2 and second jumping to 3. I don’t know what their actual agreement is.
Dirty Talk
For what it matters, I have learned that declarer had successfully managed their entries and tested the suit - the play was strictly down to the two-way club finesse when declarer began thinking.
Dirty Talk
I do not know the full details of the play - declarer may well have cashed AK before AK and then Q, preserving his chances.
How do you know what to do?
What if partner has only Qxx and the QC and continuing spades gives declarer his 8th and 9th tricks when declarer has JTxxx Axx KJx Kx? How does partner know to discourage at T1? I do not think this is so clear.
What do you return at trick two?
The queen won’t work if partner wins and plays another with declarer having 5323 with JH & JD
Easy hand?
http://www.bridgebase.com/tools/handviewer.html?bbo=y&linurl=http://www.bridgebase.com/tools/vugraph_linfetch.php?id=52686 Board 32
.

Bottom Home Top