Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Max Schireson

Max Schireson
Max Schireson
  • 7
    Following
  • 56
    Followers
  • 71
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 8, 2014
Last Seen
6 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Trying hard to learn to play bridge well. Stubbornly believe that is possible despite learning in my 40's.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
The first 105 boards of the 2018 USBC round of 16, where we played ROSENTHAL to a draw. (The match was 120 boards, the last 15 were less successful).
Bridge Accomplishments
Won 9 of 17 matches to finish 10th in the 2018 USBC RR. 27th in 2018 Blue Ribbon pairs and a couple other national pairs overalls. Won 2017 GNT-C Nationals (is winning a limited event really a bridge accomplishment? Dunno...)
Regular Bridge Partners
Debbie Rosenberg, Cadir Lee, Lynn Shannon, Sarah Youngquist
ACBL Ranking
Life Master
Olivia / Miranda JUSBC
Copy to my cards View/Print
Max and Lynn
2/1 (major suit rebid usually 6), Walsh style forcing NT
Copy to my cards View/Print
BIT Ruling and Aftermath
One problem I have with these types of situations is that BITs are often much more suggestive of a specific action to the partner of the player who broke tempo than they are to some random pollee. Here bidding 3N was not just a logical alternative, but IMO clear enough ...
Incomplete explanation of an alerted bid
“Would that absolve WEST from bidding 3 spades.” Theoretically that would depend on what your double meant, but if it were takeout of diamonds, or showing spades, nobody would object to your partner bidding (at least) 3S. “Barred myself from raising spades” There is an interesting issue here which is ...
Incomplete explanation of an alerted bid
“If I don’t ask for an explanation is there a hint I have nothing in spades?” Maybe. If you always ask for an explanation when you have something in that suit and never otherwise then definitely. Try not to ask every time you have something in the suit, and ...
Incomplete explanation of an alerted bid
1. Would it have been better if S gave a more complete explanation initially? Yes (but see below). 2. Is there much problem with “anything more?” by you? No (but see below). 3. Is it a *really* bad idea to ask specifically about spades, after having been told the bid ...
A Gold Rush win worth reporting
Addendum: today almost the same team (though somewhat older, they swapped the 11 year old for a 14 year old so their average age increased from 9 to 10) won another Swiss (this time bracket 4) https://live.acbl.org/event/2001109/121D/2/results I predict a movement to ...
Is this restricted choice
There are many other factors in this situation - most notably why they elected to play this suit at this time. But say that they had to play this suit, and further say that QJx is not relevant and the only cases that matter are QJ vs stiff honor. If I ...
Is this restricted choice
Sarik, Of course they can’t. That said one way to think about RC is in terms of layouts to play for: you can play for a stiff honor by finessing, which picks up both stiff J and stiff Q, two layouts, or play for QJ tight. Even if you ...
Is this restricted choice
Is this a RC situation, and are the two situations the same? Math is always math; whether it is the right question varies. The inference that a stiff honor is more likely than QJ tight is most impactful when other layouts can be removed and it leads directly to a ...
Upgrading, disclosure and ethics under the laws of bridge as promulgated by the ACBL (2017)
An opponent or director can’t distinguish but a player can. Same thing about revoking deliberately against opponents who wouldn’t notice.
Upgrading, disclosure and ethics under the laws of bridge as promulgated by the ACBL (2017)
And what do you think of deliberately keeping partner oblivious, so that he isn’t in a position to inform your opponents?
.

Bottom Home Top