Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Michael Rosenberg

Michael Rosenberg
Michael Rosenberg
  • 4
    Following
  • 762
    Followers
  • 11
    Posts
  • 42
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 25, 2010
Last Seen
3 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Pro
about me

I am a full time professional player, and have been so since 2004 (before that, I was semi-professional). I play in all the Nationals, a few Regionals, and do a little online teaching. My wife Debbie is also a full-time professional. We have a son, Kevin. I have two daughters, Ivana and Jahna, from a previous marriage

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning the 1994 Rosenblum
Bridge Accomplishments
Winner of Rosenblum, 1998 Par Contest, 5 US Trials, Spingold(2), Vanderbilt(2), Reisinger(2), More
Regular Bridge Partners
Zia Mahmood, Debbie Rosenberg, Chris Willenken
Favorite Tournaments
World Championship(any), US Trials
Favorite Conventions
KeyCard Blackwood, Transfers, Jacoby 2N
BBO Username
scotty
ACBL Ranking
Grand Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
You be the judge(classier than ATB I think)
Yes, 3 was clearly the worst bid. But, because it was not fatal, it was not the worst call. Passing 3N wins that award.
You be the judge(classier than ATB I think)
Since the OP specifically states that 1 promises 5-card , the only 'blanket' was over the 6th club. And since 4-1-3-5 produces an easy slam, it's not "quibbling' to criticize South. Passing 3N was a mind-loss action. (And so was 3.)
You be the judge(classier than ATB I think)
With the stiff K and only one stop, 3N would be a poor choice
You be the judge(classier than ATB I think)
If North had the hand he represented in the bidding - QJxx, x, QJx, AQxxx - then 6 would be cold. So I see South as far more at fault. South could basically have bid 6 over 3N. The poor 3N call should have HELPED N-S get to slam - just ...
You be the judge(classier than ATB I think)
North made 3 inferior calls out of 4, South only two. So 60% North? Kidding, of course. Degree is what matters. Tougher to calculate, but "Mostly South". Yes, North bid badly after he opened - but opening was a big winner. Without some methods, slam is tougher to reach after an ...
Should 1nt-2nt show 8-9 hcp or just 8 hcp?
Split points is a bit of a double-edged sword. Kxxx opposite Qxx will never produce three tricks, and might not even produce 2 when you 'find'the ace onside. KQxx facing xxx will make 2 (when ace is onside (assumibg enough entries - that's where split points is relevant), and ...
World Youth Team Championships August 8-18 2018
Andy: The problem with that is, as captain, I have a responsibility to the team - and the USBF which I am representing. I believe picking is theoretically advantageous - I just don't like it.
Ethics Problem
Harald: "How do you know east thought he made a weak jump overcall i diamonds...? We know the OP strongly implied this, and that is likely the intention of this poll. The words are right there in one of the options. Steve: With the 2 bid West represented (from ...
Question regarding missing information behind screens
I think (and I was surprised to hear) at the Captains' meeting at the current Youth World Championships that it was advised you would not lose your rights by waiting to call the Director, and indeed were encouraged to do just that.
Challenging the Advice to Rebid 2!D with Almost Any Hand with 5+ Diamonds after 1!D-2!C
Ok, I'm not going to "delve" much more, but here's another flaw. If opener is (4-2)-5-2 your method has opener rebidding 2M. You'd much rather, if responder has some 'normal' hand with no major to have the bidding go 1-2, 2-2N, 3N - not ...
.

Bottom Home Top