Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Nigel Kearney

Nigel Kearney
Nigel Kearney
  • 0
    Following
  • 7
    Followers
  • 74
    Posts
  • 1
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 2, 2010
Last Seen
12 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Live in Wellington, New Zealand. Don't play much bridge these days due to work and family commitments. In the past have represented NZ several times including a silver medal in the 1995 Junior World Championships in Bali. 

Country
New Zealand

Bridge Information

BBO Username
nigel_k
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
ATB - Wrong Spot
North bidding 4 instead of defending 3 is ok. You would normally expect one of those contracts is making. South should pass 4. If North wanted to invite he would have done something else.
Nigel Kearney's bidding problem: 32 K432 AKJ9 AK2
You have no agreements about pass of a redouble but can assume partner is as strong a player as you are :)
Defining 2NT in Comp
These are my general principles: 1. By an unlimited hand 2NT is always natural except in specifically agreed situations, i.e. when they bid over our 1NT or partner doubles their weak two. 2.If both of us have passed previously or otherwise established that we lack the values for ...
BW 2/1: Jumps to 3NT
IMO fast arrival applies once you have agreed a suit. When more than one denomination is possible, jumps show extra values.
What is your ruling?
-- Isn't it your expectation that behind screens, your -- partner would announce and explain properly what you -- think are your agreements? Not really. I expect that he will usually do so but occasionally one of us will get it wrong. When he makes a call that would be quite likely ...
What is your ruling?
I don't agree with your approach. The starting point is always to ask what would be the logical alternatives in the absence of unauthorised information. That does not mean the situation where partner alerted and described 4 as a transfer. It means the situation where West doesn't ...
What is your ruling?
West has UI because 4 was not alerted. But 5 makes no sense unless there is a misunderstanding so I think the UI is duplicated by the AI. East doesn't have UI and can bid what he likes. So I don't think there is any violation ...
Director's explanations on comparable calls
This 'road map' is not advice on bridge tactics. It is advice on interpretation of the laws and I think the director should provide it.
Long Suits
Yes. Don't open 1 on this hand type too many times with the same partner or it may become an implicit agreement.
ATB - missed game
I suggest 1 by West then 2 by East. I don't think East should raise 2 to 3. Game seems very far off and it's hard to imagine West having such a powerful hand.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top