Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Nigel Kearney

Nigel Kearney
Nigel Kearney
  • 1
    Following
  • 12
    Followers
  • 112
    Posts
  • 1
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 2, 2010
Last Seen
15 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Live in Wellington, New Zealand. Don't play much bridge these days due to work and family commitments. In the past have represented NZ several times including a silver medal in the 1995 Junior World Championships in Bali. 

Country
New Zealand

Bridge Information

BBO Username
nigel_k
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Is the auction over?
I agree with the above. Without any relevant regulation, I'd rule that putting the bidding cards back is deemed to be a final pass only if the player really intended to pass. If they thought the auction was already finished and it wasn't, they are entitled to wake ...
YBTJ-spade game missed?
I'm absurd too. Also, I am not dead minimum. It may be a style issue as I like to preempt aggressively non vul and would not dream of doing more than 2NT then 3 with West.
ATB for this disaster
I don't agree with double. I have seen things like that work sometimes but it's more likely to end badly, especially if you include future cases where you actually have a takeout double but partner doesn't believe you. 2 is understandable but the hand is very ...
Deciding Whether a Hand Is Good or Bad
How is this good? We have no stopper and may not have an eight card fit anywhere. Game is extremely far off. It's closer to pass than 3. I might try 2NT and hope they take the push to 3 so we can defend that instead of ...
Puzzled by Evening Swiss Ruling in San Francisco
Yes. It depends on what was going through the player's mind at the time they bid 4. If they intended to bid 4 and pulled out the 4 card, they can change that even if some time passes before they notice the error. If they mistakenly ...
Hoffman v Coles - The Psych from Brd 19 Women's QF8 of 8 - 8/12/19 Australia
Most people understand that when a player describes a bid as "forcing", they actually mean "unlimited".
Bad slam
I don't think South has denied spade support. The splinter tends to suggest stuff in the other three suits. Even Qx of spades makes it a very different hand and it's hard for North to find out about that. If South had Qx A10xx KQxxxx x there would ...
Bad slam
South should have bid 3 not 4. A splinter should be descriptive and get most of the hand across, allowing partner to take control. It should not be a weirdly shaped hand that also happens to include four card support and a shortage, at least not when there ...
Hoffman v Coles - The Psych from Brd 19 Women's QF8 of 8 - 8/12/19 Australia
As a statement of general principles this is fine. They knew they were going to preempt very aggressively at favourable when they agreed to play 2 as forcing. Describing partner's bid as forcing and then passing when your hand is not particularly unusual, is going to make people ...
Should The Pass be Disallowed after the Pause
South has 17 HCP and a five card suit. That's probably not extras if the 1NT opening is 14-16 but might be otherwise. Anyway it is a judgment call that South is entitled to make without the director automatically assuming he misunderstood the auction. If North intended 4NT as ...
.

Bottom Home Top