Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Paul Maris

Paul Maris
Paul Maris
  • 0
    Following
  • 3
    Followers
  • 44
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Oct. 22, 2013
Last Seen
Oct. 18
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Expert from the Netherlands, in top-40 masterpoint rankings. As a committee member I served the NBB for 30 years, EBL 20 years and WBF 10 years.

Country
Netherlands

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Milan 1996, when I squeezed Garozzo for an overtrick in 6NT. After trick 9 he looked at me, I nodded and he put his cards back in the board.
Bridge Accomplishments
Winner of numerous tournaments. Played in Dutch top-division both teams and pairs.
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Meaning of Double Jump Cue Bid
Of course 7-5 is also a possibility. We play this method (4M and 4NT) over 1M, 2M and 3M.
Paul Maris's bidding problem: KQT942 --- Q8 AK632
"You may use your favorite 2-suited intervention." That's why I voted for 2 (Ghestem, & ).
RESURRECTING THE VERY EASY 6NT FROM THE WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP
"The results from 28 of the 32 tables are available in BBO archival files. It was played in 6NT 20 times, always with the spade ten lead. Jill was one of the two declarers who ducked; she later executed the endplay to make the contract. [...] The only other successful declarer ...
Second Stayman
The first thread started with "I’ve seen this before" whereupon a discussion started what "Extended Stayman" was supposed to mean. Well, I’ve seen this before, moreover it has a name, and I considered it a good idea to share the source of this with you. As I stated ...
Second Stayman
The idea is old. Bridge International (the successor of Bridge Magazine), July 1984, in te section "Modern Acol Bidding" by Eric Crowhurst, S.I.D. - Stayman In Doubt. The article covers two pages. It works like this: after 1NT-2; 2M, 3 (I quote) "confirming the existence of a ...
What does non leaping michaels show?
5(+) / 5(+).
Critique the bidding
Anyway, the partner of the 6-bidder should have passed 6 conform the good old rule: a jump to slam ends the bidding. Of course, other bidding sequences are conceivable.
What is this double?
@Craig That's what I said: normally exactly 4 hearts, BUT when responder has a 5(+)card, he has taken responsibility to show this with his next bid. We play it the other way around, namely Negative (or Non-forcing) Free Bids, thus 2 = NF, via negative double is forcing ...
What is this double?
Unlike other contributors, IMO this is NOT a support double situation. In 1-(Pass)-1-(1) responder showed 4+ hearts, with emphasis on plus. So a support double or 2-bid reveals the degree of fit and partner can take advantage of that knowledge and bid accordingly ...
Promised lenght in advancer's hand
David, may I ask you to share that reason with us? Thanks.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top