Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ray Fink

Ray Fink
Ray Fink
  • 16
    Following
  • 3
    Followers
  • 29
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 28, 2016
Last Seen
3 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Follows suit: Almost always

Counts to twelve: Almost always

Counts to thirteen: Some of the time

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
RayFink
ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
The Pros have no idea
of 2000+ pairs, 7 pairs in 7NT making, 22 pairs in 7 making. Hardly any partscores
Dummy Plays Wrong Card
JohnL, this was a small friendly club game, no nefarious actors, all known players. My thought at the time was to establish the facts as best I could. Three players saying they heard "low club" was strong evidence (one is hearing-impaired), but declarer seemed genuine in her statement that she ...
Dummy Plays Wrong Card
My question remains: What if declarer insists that he called for a low club, but dummy and opponents disagree? It's not a question of unintended designation. I had to rule on a very similar situation recently. Dummy and opponents said they heard "low club" but declarer (very soft spoken ...
Dummy Plays Wrong Card
"If it is agreed that declarer called..." is the tricky part. What happens when the defenders (and dummy, apparently) all say that declarer called for the ace?
The Pros have no idea
The results in The Common Game, 170 clubs reporting, 900+ tables 6N+1 95% 6N= 88% 6D+1 75% 6D= 62% 3N+4 52% Not the Life Master Pairs.
The Pros have no idea
Monty, exactly right. It's a different game out here... In my small-town club, I watched my N-S opponents stumble into 6NT on a comically bad auction, making 6 for a cold top. One pair reached 6. The rest of the small field played 3NT.
Hesitation Blackwood
Ask my partner about the time (NABC event, no less) I put him in 7, doubled in tempo by his LHO. My hand was such that the only thing that mattered was the three key cards I didn't have, no point in any subtlety so I cut to ...
Hesitation Blackwood
Ditto. Our system notes (present at the table) specifically state that we play Autowood. By agreement, holding 3/4 responder is required to bid on after asker's signoff.
Cash or Uppercut - How do you know?
If the 7 is discouraging, partner might read that as four diamonds in your hand. I'll pay off if partner doesn't have a spade trick AND declarer works out my doubleton queen of hearts. Leading a cashing diamond now saves declarer the trouble of figuring out the heart ...
Cash or Uppercut - How do you know?
It's not obvious to me that partner did not start with six diamonds, in which case the Q is not cashing. Did your 7 give partner the count? Even if the queen cashes, it just sets up a diamond trick for declarer while there is still an entry in ...
.

Bottom Home Top