Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Robin Hillyard

Robin Hillyard
Robin Hillyard
  • 78
    Following
  • 34
    Followers
  • 151
    Posts
  • 21
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 4, 2013
Last Seen
Jan. 19
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Learned bridge in the US so, despite my Britishness, I don't know Acol. Took almost 20 years off. I am more of a theoretician/teacher than an expert proponent. For some reason (probably because I don't think fast enough), I don't always make such good decisions at the table as I can in the post-mortem. Many of my observations and thoughts end up in my blog (see website in my profile). In real life, I have a Ph.D. in Computer Science, and I am an Associate Teaching Professor at Northeastern University in Boston.

I'm also a musician (bassoonist) and yes, people, music always outranks bridge. Sorry.

I have a bridge-playing wife (Kim) who is a very popular and successful bridge teacher, a 17-yr-old son (CJ)--who no longer plays bridge because it isn't cool--and two grown-up non-bridge-playing kids. I can (rarely) be found directing bridge games.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Honolulu 2004. We had been in HI for ten days so had a big advantage over the East-coasters who had just arrived. Entered LM pairs for the first time ever. Terrible first session (42%). Decided to have wine with dinner (how could it hurt?). Got (double) section top in second session and qualified for second day (but didn't distinguish ourselves then).
Bridge Accomplishments
Four regional, open, two-session wins (three pairs and one Swiss), most recently at Warwick, RI 2019; various open sectional wins.
Regular Bridge Partners
Dan Jablonski, Ethan Wood, Harrison Luba, Kim Gilman, Barry Margolin, Alan Frank,Peter Matthews.
Member of Bridge Club(s)
The Bridge Spot, Newton Bridge Club (MA)
Favorite Tournaments
Warwick, RI; Nashua NH; NABCs.
Favorite Conventions
Fit-showing jumps, XYZ, splinters (including splimits), cooperative doubles
BBO Username
Beowulf
ACBL Ranking
Gold Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Enlist the Aid
This appears to be one of those ordinary hands where 3 makes or it doesn't. No big deal. But this article reminds us (well, me, anyway) that it's worth taking some time to think about such a hand to try to avoid a likely 5 or 6 ...
Robin Hillyard's bidding problem: AQ65 KQ62 K743 5
Getting close, Henry.
Alan Frank's bidding problem: KQ9 J852 A K9875
Well, and again going back to the origins of inverted minors, bidding a suit instead of 2NT promises at least a four-card diamond suit, otherwise you'd be showing a balanced hand. Of course, if you don't play that, it's OK, but every once in a while, partner ...
Double after game force has been set
I hadn't thought about the possibility of it being a support double, given the usual rules as Steve pointed out. Nevertheless, these days, many pairs agree to play a "nebulous" 2C. Maybe the idea of a support double in such circumstances isn't so crazy!
Robin Hillyard's bidding problem: AQ65 KQ62 K743 5
I won't show the exact hand because I didn't hold it at the table, but in its favor, it did have five spades.
Alan Frank's bidding problem: KQ9 J852 A K9875
This poll brings up the old problem of whether or not 2NT is forcing. In K-S, where I believe inverted minors were first used, it is forcing because we have game (the 2NT rebid promises 15-17 balanced). But when inverted minors got adopted by "standard" bidding, it's not clear ...
Double after game force has been set
I really appreciate everyone's comments and votes. It is clear that the double is, without prior discussion, for penalty. It's true that a case can be made for the pass-double-inversion treatment but it would be foolish to assume that without having explicitly agreed it with your partner in ...
Double after game force has been set
John, nothing was listed because there is no "this partnership."
Robin Hillyard's bidding problem: AQ65 KQ62 K743 5
The result was down 2. Not only did partner's KQxx not contribute much offensively, but his Qxx was a definite liability as opener was able to give his partner a diamond ruff. The K was offside of course.
Double after game force has been set
I'm a bit surprised by the unanimity of the responses. That suggests that pass/double inversion is not a popular treatment here. What would Meckwell do? Are there not some advantages to pass/double inversion that might come into play here? Just asking.
.

Bottom Home Top