Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ron Zucker

Ron Zucker
Ron Zucker
  • 100
    Following
  • 40
    Followers
  • 78
    Posts
  • 84
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 26, 2010
Last Seen
Sept. 18
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I'm neither as good as I'd like to be nor as bad as I fear I am. I'm exactly the guy you play against most. I'm not incompetent, but you don't fear me. Since I'm not good enough to be arrogant, I aim for polite instead.

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
before the days of bidding boxes, LHO and pard passed. RHO heard 1C from another table, so holding 4-4 in the majors and an opening hand, he doubled. I hadn't been paying attention, looked at my hand and counted 10 HCP, so I redoubled. LHO called the director. "What seems to be the problem?" "We're playing in redoubled." "What redoubled?" "Nothing. Just redoubled."
BBO Username
RonZ
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
The 2!c strong opening is annoying
Okay, arguing for a total systemic change here, and I know that's not fair. So let me make the case about the theory, and then we'll discuss how it works in the real world. Usually, the 2 opener has too much to tell, so should just be ...
ATB: Did anyone actually do anything wrong?
John, interesting observation. It was the last round, against a pair with a 42% game. If we score 800, we come in 2nd EW, instead of 4th.
ATB: Did anyone actually do anything wrong?
All of which is to say I think it more likely that you, Richard, Dominic and Craig are all MUCH more likely to make 5 than I am... :D
ATB: Did anyone actually do anything wrong?
Nope. At least, I don't THINK I tanked. I was pretty satisfied once East doubled in appropriate tempo. I spent his time deciding what I would do over pretty much anything.
ATB: Did anyone actually do anything wrong?
This was the motivation for the post, though I was also uncertain of the second bid as West. Thank you. I don't know that I'll change what I did the next time (not the exact hand, since that will never happen, but you get the idea), but it ...
ATB: Did anyone actually do anything wrong?
Yup. Led the 9, Lloyd (since you know us, so I can use names) followed small smoothly, and declarer tanked and ducked. I didn't ask what made him decide to do this, merely commented that he made a nice play, congratulated him and moved on.
ATB: Did anyone actually do anything wrong?
Michael, full disclosure, I was West. At the time, I was kind of undecided between X and 2 at my first turn. I have a general rule that in situations like this, when there might be later bidding, either come to a conclusion within 10 seconds (I'm a ...
ATB: Did anyone actually do anything wrong?
Ken, looking at all four hands, not necessarily. The lead of a *small* club does that, but if North decides not to lead a diamond, isn't he likely to lead the Q (J if that's systemic)? If so, if South unblocks, one club loser, or if s/he ...
Should This NLM Stay in his Lane?
There is a more general problem going on here. Michael, though I agree with Oren's comments that your comment was awfully inappropriate, you are not alone among bridge players. There is a local player who is a top notch expert who engenders a split reaction among other players. He ...
Mike Gill's bidding problem: xx AKQxxxxx x xx
I think I'm wrong to pass. The stiff diamond is scary to pass with. The one who knows (is short) goes. That said, I can't see how I can even possibly bid 5 and expect to play there if it's right. Partner can have 3 aces ...
.

Bottom Home Top